Skip to content

Adams State University vs United States Air Force Academy

Adams State University is a public university in Alamosa, CO, and United States Air Force Academy is a public university in USAF Academy, CO. United States Air Force Academy is the more selective of the two, admitting about 14% of applicants against 99% at Adams State University. About 88% of students graduate at United States Air Force Academy, compared with 36% at Adams State University.

Adams State University

Alamosa, CO · Public

United States Air Force Academy

USAF Academy, CO · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Alamosa, CO
USAF Academy, CO
Setting
Suburban
Rural
Undergraduates
1,250
4,114
Acceptance rate
99%
14%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.13–3.63
3.45–4
SAT (middle 50%)
910–1130
1230–1440
ACT (middle 50%)
15–26
26–33
Test policy
Test optional
Required
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$12,980
Not reported
Full cost / yr
$24,352
Not reported
In-state tuition
$9,824
Not reported
Out-of-state tuition
$21,944
Not reported
Application fee
$30
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$9,947
Not reported
$30k - $48k
$10,392
Not reported
$48k - $75k
$11,921
Not reported
$75k - $110k
$15,787
Not reported
Over $110k
$20,274
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
36%
88%
Freshman retention
51%
97%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$38,338
Not reported
Median earnings (10 yr)
$44,372
Not reported
Median debt at graduation
$19,500
Not reported
Student body
Pell grant recipients
38%
Not reported
First-generation students
42%
Not reported
International students
1%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Adams State University or United States Air Force Academy harder to get into?
United States Air Force Academy is harder to get into. It admits about 14% of applicants, compared with 99% at Adams State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is bigger, Adams State University or United States Air Force Academy?
United States Air Force Academy is the larger of the two, with about 4,114 undergraduates against 1,250 at Adams State University.
Does Adams State University or United States Air Force Academy have a better graduation rate?
United States Air Force Academy has the higher graduation rate, at about 88% against 36% at Adams State University.
Do Adams State University and United States Air Force Academy require SAT or ACT scores?
Adams State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. United States Air Force Academy requires SAT or ACT scores.
What SAT scores do Adams State University and United States Air Force Academy look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 910–1130 at Adams State University and 1230–1440 at United States Air Force Academy. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school