Skip to content

Adrian College vs University of Michigan-Flint

Adrian College is a private college in Adrian, MI, and University of Michigan-Flint is a public university in Flint, MI. University of Michigan-Flint is the more selective of the two, admitting about 70% of applicants against 73% at Adrian College. University of Michigan-Flint is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $7,007 a year against $25,368 at Adrian College. About 52% of students graduate at Adrian College, compared with 42% at University of Michigan-Flint. Ten years after enrolling, Adrian College alumni earn a median of about $55,504, against $53,230 for University of Michigan-Flint.

Adrian College

Adrian, MI · Private

University of Michigan-Flint

Flint, MI · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Adrian, MI
Flint, MI
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,604
4,411
Acceptance rate
73%
70%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.36–3.86
3.43–3.93
SAT (middle 50%)
873–1140
970–1243
ACT (middle 50%)
21–27
19–24
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$25,368
$7,007
Full cost / yr
$56,003
$20,915
In-state tuition
$41,684
$14,704
Out-of-state tuition
$41,684
$28,320
Application fee
Not reported
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$19,542
$1,517
$30k - $48k
$21,571
$2,386
$48k - $75k
$24,162
$3,752
$75k - $110k
$27,166
$9,167
Over $110k
$28,652
$12,333
Outcomes
Graduation rate
52%
42%
Freshman retention
65%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$42,805
$45,453
Median earnings (10 yr)
$55,504
$53,230
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$25,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
31%
39%
First-generation students
31%
37%
International students
6%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Adrian College or University of Michigan-Flint harder to get into?
University of Michigan-Flint is harder to get into. It admits about 70% of applicants, compared with 73% at Adrian College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Adrian College or University of Michigan-Flint?
University of Michigan-Flint is cheaper on average. Students pay about $7,007 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $25,368 at Adrian College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Adrian College and University of Michigan-Flint?
Before aid, University of Michigan-Flint costs about $20,915 a year and Adrian College about $56,003. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Adrian College or University of Michigan-Flint?
University of Michigan-Flint. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $1,517 there, against about $19,542 at Adrian College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Adrian College or University of Michigan-Flint?
University of Michigan-Flint is the larger of the two, with about 4,411 undergraduates against 1,604 at Adrian College.
Does Adrian College or University of Michigan-Flint have a better graduation rate?
Adrian College has the higher graduation rate, at about 52% against 42% at University of Michigan-Flint.
Do graduates of Adrian College or University of Michigan-Flint earn more?
Adrian College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $55,504 ten years after enrolling, against about $53,230 for University of Michigan-Flint. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Adrian College and University of Michigan-Flint require SAT or ACT scores?
Adrian College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. University of Michigan-Flint considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Adrian College and University of Michigan-Flint look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 873–1140 at Adrian College and 970–1243 at University of Michigan-Flint. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school