Skip to content

Alabama A & M University vs Columbia Southern University

Alabama A & M University is a public university in Normal, AL. Columbia Southern University is a private for-profit university in Orange Beach, AL. Alabama A & M University admits about 58% of applicants and Columbia Southern University about 100%, making Alabama A & M University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $14,580 a year at Columbia Southern University after aid, and about $17,621 at Alabama A & M University. About 35% of students graduate at Columbia Southern University, compared with 26% at Alabama A & M University. Ten years after enrolling, Columbia Southern University alumni earn a median of about $63,534, against $40,628 for Alabama A & M University.

Alabama A & M University

Normal, AL · Public

Columbia Southern University

Orange Beach, AL · Private (for-profit)
At a glance
Type
Public
Private (for-profit)
Location
Normal, AL
Orange Beach, AL
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
6,124
12,176
Acceptance rate
58%
100%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.34–3.84
3.2–3.7
SAT (middle 50%)
810–1040
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
14–19
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Not reported
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$17,621
$14,580
Full cost / yr
$27,153
$18,226
In-state tuition
$10,024
$6,760
Out-of-state tuition
$18,634
$6,760
Application fee
$30
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,500
$12,913
$30k - $48k
$16,387
$13,455
$48k - $75k
$19,622
$15,569
$75k - $110k
$21,680
$16,226
Over $110k
$20,364
$17,408
Outcomes
Graduation rate
26%
35%
Freshman retention
70%
71%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$27,851
$55,140
Median earnings (10 yr)
$40,628
$63,534
Median debt at graduation
$31,000
$21,339
Student body
Pell grant recipients
63%
24%
First-generation students
37%
54%
International students
2%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Feb 1
Not reported
Regular decision
Jun 15
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Alabama A & M University or Columbia Southern University harder to get into?
Alabama A & M University is harder to get into. It admits about 58% of applicants, compared with 100% at Columbia Southern University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Alabama A & M University or Columbia Southern University?
Columbia Southern University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,580 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $17,621 at Alabama A & M University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Alabama A & M University and Columbia Southern University?
Before aid, Columbia Southern University costs about $18,226 a year and Alabama A & M University about $27,153. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Alabama A & M University or Columbia Southern University?
Columbia Southern University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,913 there, against about $16,500 at Alabama A & M University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Alabama A & M University or Columbia Southern University?
Columbia Southern University is the larger of the two, with about 12,176 undergraduates against 6,124 at Alabama A & M University.
Does Alabama A & M University or Columbia Southern University have a better graduation rate?
Columbia Southern University has the higher graduation rate, at about 35% against 26% at Alabama A & M University.
Do graduates of Alabama A & M University or Columbia Southern University earn more?
Columbia Southern University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $63,534 ten years after enrolling, against about $40,628 for Alabama A & M University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school