Skip to content

Alabama State University vs Miles College

Alabama State University is a public university in Montgomery, AL. Miles College is a private college in Fairfield, AL. Students pay an average of about $14,271 a year at Miles College after aid, and about $20,435 at Alabama State University. About 30% of students graduate at Alabama State University, compared with 20% at Miles College. Ten years after enrolling, Alabama State University alumni earn a median of about $34,502, against $32,627 for Miles College.

Alabama State University

Montgomery, AL · Public

Miles College

Fairfield, AL · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Montgomery, AL
Fairfield, AL
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
3,477
1,155
Acceptance rate
98%
Not reported
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.02–3.52
Not reported
SAT (middle 50%)
749–967
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
15–20
Not reported
Test policy
Considered
Not reported
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$20,435
$14,271
Full cost / yr
$23,586
$21,154
In-state tuition
$11,248
$13,314
Out-of-state tuition
$19,576
$13,314
Application fee
$30
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$19,711
$13,907
$30k - $48k
$21,682
$13,677
$48k - $75k
$21,508
$16,747
$75k - $110k
$21,608
$18,889
Over $110k
$19,031
Not reported
Outcomes
Graduation rate
30%
20%
Freshman retention
70%
56%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$27,453
$25,822
Median earnings (10 yr)
$34,502
$32,627
Median debt at graduation
$31,000
$31,217
Student body
Pell grant recipients
71%
72%
First-generation students
34%
42%
International students
3%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Aug 2

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, Alabama State University or Miles College?
Miles College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,271 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,435 at Alabama State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Alabama State University and Miles College?
Before aid, Miles College costs about $21,154 a year and Alabama State University about $23,586. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Alabama State University or Miles College?
Miles College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $13,907 there, against about $19,711 at Alabama State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Alabama State University or Miles College?
Alabama State University is the larger of the two, with about 3,477 undergraduates against 1,155 at Miles College.
Does Alabama State University or Miles College have a better graduation rate?
Alabama State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 30% against 20% at Miles College.
Do graduates of Alabama State University or Miles College earn more?
Alabama State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $34,502 ten years after enrolling, against about $32,627 for Miles College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school