Skip to content

Albany State University vs Emmanuel University

Albany State University is a public university in Albany, GA, and Emmanuel University is a private university in Franklin Springs, GA. Albany State University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 73% of applicants against 74% at Emmanuel University. Albany State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $11,898 a year against $20,925 at Emmanuel University. About 38% of students graduate at Emmanuel University, compared with 27% at Albany State University. Ten years after enrolling, Albany State University alumni earn a median of about $40,674, against $38,208 for Emmanuel University.

Albany State University

Albany, GA · Public

Emmanuel University

Franklin Springs, GA · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Albany, GA
Franklin Springs, GA
Setting
Urban
Rural
Undergraduates
5,956
775
Acceptance rate
73%
74%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.25–3.75
3.35–3.85
SAT (middle 50%)
740–900
980–1160
ACT (middle 50%)
15–18
17–24
Test policy
Test optional
Test blind
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$11,898
$20,925
Full cost / yr
$19,333
$37,604
In-state tuition
$5,656
$25,500
Out-of-state tuition
$17,008
$25,500
Application fee
$25
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$10,693
$17,735
$30k - $48k
$11,147
$17,687
$48k - $75k
$13,785
$19,817
$75k - $110k
$16,419
$20,592
Over $110k
$17,324
$24,674
Outcomes
Graduation rate
27%
38%
Freshman retention
79%
71%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$35,579
$37,595
Median earnings (10 yr)
$40,674
$38,208
Median debt at graduation
$25,024
$24,325
Student body
Pell grant recipients
69%
29%
First-generation students
34%
36%
International students
0%
14%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Albany State University or Emmanuel University harder to get into?
Albany State University is harder to get into. It admits about 73% of applicants, compared with 74% at Emmanuel University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Albany State University or Emmanuel University?
Albany State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $11,898 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,925 at Emmanuel University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Albany State University and Emmanuel University?
Before aid, Albany State University costs about $19,333 a year and Emmanuel University about $37,604. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Albany State University or Emmanuel University?
Albany State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,693 there, against about $17,735 at Emmanuel University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Albany State University or Emmanuel University?
Albany State University is the larger of the two, with about 5,956 undergraduates against 775 at Emmanuel University.
Does Albany State University or Emmanuel University have a better graduation rate?
Emmanuel University has the higher graduation rate, at about 38% against 27% at Albany State University.
Do graduates of Albany State University or Emmanuel University earn more?
Albany State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $40,674 ten years after enrolling, against about $38,208 for Emmanuel University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Albany State University and Emmanuel University require SAT or ACT scores?
Albany State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Emmanuel University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all.
What SAT scores do Albany State University and Emmanuel University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 740–900 at Albany State University and 980–1160 at Emmanuel University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school