Skip to content

Albany State University vs Kennesaw State University

Albany State University is a public university in Albany, GA, and Kennesaw State University is a public university in Kennesaw, GA. Kennesaw State University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 69% of applicants against 73% at Albany State University. Albany State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $11,898 a year against $15,048 at Kennesaw State University. About 50% of students graduate at Kennesaw State University, compared with 27% at Albany State University. Ten years after enrolling, Kennesaw State University alumni earn a median of about $57,552, against $40,674 for Albany State University.

Albany State University

Albany, GA · Public

Kennesaw State University

Kennesaw, GA · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Albany, GA
Kennesaw, GA
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
5,956
41,254
Acceptance rate
73%
69%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.25–3.75
3.43–3.93
SAT (middle 50%)
740–900
1000–1220
ACT (middle 50%)
15–18
19–26
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$11,898
$15,048
Full cost / yr
$19,333
$24,008
In-state tuition
$5,656
$5,808
Out-of-state tuition
$17,008
$17,736
Application fee
$25
$40
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$10,693
$12,235
$30k - $48k
$11,147
$12,661
$48k - $75k
$13,785
$15,185
$75k - $110k
$16,419
$18,263
Over $110k
$17,324
$19,309
Outcomes
Graduation rate
27%
50%
Freshman retention
79%
77%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$35,579
$47,863
Median earnings (10 yr)
$40,674
$57,552
Median debt at graduation
$25,024
$23,833
Student body
Pell grant recipients
69%
38%
First-generation students
34%
27%
International students
0%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Jul 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Albany State University or Kennesaw State University harder to get into?
Kennesaw State University is harder to get into. It admits about 69% of applicants, compared with 73% at Albany State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Albany State University or Kennesaw State University?
Albany State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $11,898 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $15,048 at Kennesaw State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Albany State University and Kennesaw State University?
Before aid, Albany State University costs about $19,333 a year and Kennesaw State University about $24,008. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Albany State University or Kennesaw State University?
Albany State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,693 there, against about $12,235 at Kennesaw State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Albany State University or Kennesaw State University?
Kennesaw State University is the larger of the two, with about 41,254 undergraduates against 5,956 at Albany State University.
Does Albany State University or Kennesaw State University have a better graduation rate?
Kennesaw State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 50% against 27% at Albany State University.
Do graduates of Albany State University or Kennesaw State University earn more?
Kennesaw State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $57,552 ten years after enrolling, against about $40,674 for Albany State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Albany State University and Kennesaw State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Albany State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Kennesaw State University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Albany State University and Kennesaw State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 740–900 at Albany State University and 1000–1220 at Kennesaw State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school