Skip to content

Alcorn State University vs Mississippi College

Alcorn State University is a public university in Alcorn State, MS. Mississippi College is a private college in Clinton, MS. Mississippi College admits about 29% of applicants and Alcorn State University about 45%, making Mississippi College the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $13,265 a year at Alcorn State University after aid, and about $27,712 at Mississippi College. About 61% of students graduate at Mississippi College, compared with 51% at Alcorn State University. Ten years after enrolling, Mississippi College alumni earn a median of about $47,485, against $36,421 for Alcorn State University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Alcorn State University

Alcorn State, MS · Public

Mississippi College

Clinton, MS · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Alcorn State, MS
Clinton, MS
Setting
Rural
Suburban
Undergraduates
2,363
2,518
Acceptance rate
45%
29%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.2–3.9
3.41–4
SAT (middle 50%)
670–998
1140–1260
ACT (middle 50%)
15–19
19–25
Test policy
Considered
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$13,265
$27,712
Full cost / yr
$23,751
$41,214
In-state tuition
$8,785
$23,500
Out-of-state tuition
$8,785
$23,500
Application fee
$30
$40
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$12,613
$25,984
$30k - $48k
$12,344
$25,743
$48k - $75k
$16,296
$27,601
$75k - $110k
$18,244
$29,083
Over $110k
$17,620
$29,757
Outcomes
Graduation rate
51%
61%
Freshman retention
77%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$27,752
$42,011
Median earnings (10 yr)
$36,421
$47,485
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$22,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
70%
30%
First-generation students
35%
26%
International students
1%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Alcorn State University or Mississippi College harder to get into?
Mississippi College is harder to get into. It admits about 29% of applicants, compared with 45% at Alcorn State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Alcorn State University or Mississippi College?
Alcorn State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,265 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $27,712 at Mississippi College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Alcorn State University and Mississippi College?
Before aid, Alcorn State University costs about $23,751 a year and Mississippi College about $41,214. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Alcorn State University or Mississippi College?
Alcorn State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,613 there, against about $25,984 at Mississippi College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Alcorn State University or Mississippi College?
Mississippi College is the larger of the two, with about 2,518 undergraduates against 2,363 at Alcorn State University.
Does Alcorn State University or Mississippi College have a better graduation rate?
Mississippi College has the higher graduation rate, at about 61% against 51% at Alcorn State University.
Do graduates of Alcorn State University or Mississippi College earn more?
Mississippi College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $47,485 ten years after enrolling, against about $36,421 for Alcorn State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Alcorn State University and Mississippi College require SAT or ACT scores?
Alcorn State University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Mississippi College considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Alcorn State University and Mississippi College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 670–998 at Alcorn State University and 1140–1260 at Mississippi College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school