Skip to content

Alice Lloyd College vs Eastern Kentucky University

Alice Lloyd College is a private college in Pippa Passes, KY. Eastern Kentucky University is a public university in Richmond, KY. Alice Lloyd College admits about 75% of applicants and Eastern Kentucky University about 78%, making Alice Lloyd College the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $11,040 a year at Eastern Kentucky University after aid, and about $18,600 at Alice Lloyd College. About 50% of students graduate at Eastern Kentucky University, compared with 32% at Alice Lloyd College. Ten years after enrolling, Eastern Kentucky University alumni earn a median of about $45,795, against $40,573 for Alice Lloyd College.

Alice Lloyd College

Pippa Passes, KY · Private

Eastern Kentucky University

Richmond, KY · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Pippa Passes, KY
Richmond, KY
Setting
Rural
Suburban
Undergraduates
558
12,318
Acceptance rate
75%
78%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.24–3.74
3.28–3.78
SAT (middle 50%)
710–960
880–1080
ACT (middle 50%)
16–22
19–25
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,600
$11,040
Full cost / yr
$31,200
$23,735
In-state tuition
$13,960
$10,320
Out-of-state tuition
$13,960
$21,230
Application fee
Not reported
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$17,444
$8,591
$30k - $48k
$16,447
$8,005
$48k - $75k
$17,715
$10,382
$75k - $110k
$21,757
$14,384
Over $110k
$19,349
$17,009
Outcomes
Graduation rate
32%
50%
Freshman retention
57%
77%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$35,174
$38,611
Median earnings (10 yr)
$40,573
$45,795
Median debt at graduation
$19,599
$22,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
58%
41%
First-generation students
47%
40%
International students
1%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Aug 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Alice Lloyd College or Eastern Kentucky University harder to get into?
Alice Lloyd College is harder to get into. It admits about 75% of applicants, compared with 78% at Eastern Kentucky University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Alice Lloyd College or Eastern Kentucky University?
Eastern Kentucky University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $11,040 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $18,600 at Alice Lloyd College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Alice Lloyd College and Eastern Kentucky University?
Before aid, Eastern Kentucky University costs about $23,735 a year and Alice Lloyd College about $31,200. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Alice Lloyd College or Eastern Kentucky University?
Eastern Kentucky University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $8,591 there, against about $17,444 at Alice Lloyd College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Alice Lloyd College or Eastern Kentucky University?
Eastern Kentucky University is the larger of the two, with about 12,318 undergraduates against 558 at Alice Lloyd College.
Does Alice Lloyd College or Eastern Kentucky University have a better graduation rate?
Eastern Kentucky University has the higher graduation rate, at about 50% against 32% at Alice Lloyd College.
Do graduates of Alice Lloyd College or Eastern Kentucky University earn more?
Eastern Kentucky University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $45,795 ten years after enrolling, against about $40,573 for Alice Lloyd College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Alice Lloyd College and Eastern Kentucky University require SAT or ACT scores?
Alice Lloyd College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Eastern Kentucky University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Alice Lloyd College and Eastern Kentucky University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 710–960 at Alice Lloyd College and 880–1080 at Eastern Kentucky University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school