Allen College vs University of Northern Iowa
Allen College is a private college in Waterloo, IA. University of Northern Iowa is a public university in Cedar Falls, IA. University of Northern Iowa admits about 93% of applicants and Allen College about 100%, making University of Northern Iowa the harder of the two to get into. Ten years after enrolling, Allen College alumni earn a median of about $71,261, against $55,177 for University of Northern Iowa.
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Waterloo, IA
Cedar Falls, IA
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
261
7,529
Acceptance rate
100%
93%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.2–3.7
3.23–3.73
SAT (middle 50%)
Not reported
1020–1280
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
19–26
Test policy
Test blind
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
Not reported
$15,901
Full cost / yr
Not reported
$22,278
In-state tuition
Not reported
$9,936
Out-of-state tuition
Not reported
$21,712
Application fee
$50
$40
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
Not reported
$10,863
$30k - $48k
Not reported
$11,751
$48k - $75k
Not reported
$14,099
$75k - $110k
Not reported
$17,740
Over $110k
Not reported
$18,706
Outcomes
Graduation rate
Not reported
68%
Freshman retention
Not reported
82%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$65,078
$47,222
Median earnings (10 yr)
$71,261
$55,177
Median debt at graduation
$18,750
$19,691
Student body
Pell grant recipients
24%
27%
First-generation students
Not reported
22%
International students
1%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling
Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.
- Is Allen College or University of Northern Iowa harder to get into?
- University of Northern Iowa is harder to get into. It admits about 93% of applicants, compared with 100% at Allen College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
- Which is bigger, Allen College or University of Northern Iowa?
- University of Northern Iowa is the larger of the two, with about 7,529 undergraduates against 261 at Allen College.
- Do graduates of Allen College or University of Northern Iowa earn more?
- Allen College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $71,261 ten years after enrolling, against about $55,177 for University of Northern Iowa. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
- Do Allen College and University of Northern Iowa require SAT or ACT scores?
- Allen College is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. University of Northern Iowa is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
Related comparisons
Which of these is the better fit for you?
These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.
1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school