Skip to content

Alma College vs Lake Superior State University

Alma College is a private college in Alma, MI, and Lake Superior State University is a public university in Sault Ste Marie, MI. Alma College is the more selective of the two, admitting about 57% of applicants against 68% at Lake Superior State University. Lake Superior State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $12,822 a year against $20,694 at Alma College. About 63% of students graduate at Alma College, compared with 54% at Lake Superior State University. Ten years after enrolling, Alma College alumni earn a median of about $54,742, against $49,045 for Lake Superior State University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Alma College

Alma, MI · Private

Lake Superior State University

Sault Ste Marie, MI · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Alma, MI
Sault Ste Marie, MI
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,148
1,325
Acceptance rate
57%
68%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.46–3.96
3.44–3.94
SAT (middle 50%)
1030–1230
1000–1225
ACT (middle 50%)
20–25
19–26
Test policy
Required
Test blind
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$20,694
$12,822
Full cost / yr
$63,650
$27,154
In-state tuition
$49,552
$14,890
Out-of-state tuition
$49,552
$14,890
Application fee
$0
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$17,162
$3,516
$30k - $48k
$18,009
$9,226
$48k - $75k
$18,076
$10,422
$75k - $110k
$18,699
$14,541
Over $110k
$23,618
$20,321
Outcomes
Graduation rate
63%
54%
Freshman retention
85%
79%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$45,720
$42,767
Median earnings (10 yr)
$54,742
$49,045
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$23,250
Student body
Pell grant recipients
27%
27%
First-generation students
24%
33%
International students
6%
8%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Alma College or Lake Superior State University harder to get into?
Alma College is harder to get into. It admits about 57% of applicants, compared with 68% at Lake Superior State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Alma College or Lake Superior State University?
Lake Superior State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $12,822 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,694 at Alma College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Alma College and Lake Superior State University?
Before aid, Lake Superior State University costs about $27,154 a year and Alma College about $63,650. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Alma College or Lake Superior State University?
Lake Superior State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $3,516 there, against about $17,162 at Alma College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Alma College or Lake Superior State University?
Lake Superior State University is the larger of the two, with about 1,325 undergraduates against 1,148 at Alma College.
Does Alma College or Lake Superior State University have a better graduation rate?
Alma College has the higher graduation rate, at about 63% against 54% at Lake Superior State University.
Do graduates of Alma College or Lake Superior State University earn more?
Alma College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $54,742 ten years after enrolling, against about $49,045 for Lake Superior State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Alma College and Lake Superior State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Alma College requires SAT or ACT scores. Lake Superior State University is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all.
What SAT scores do Alma College and Lake Superior State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1030–1230 at Alma College and 1000–1225 at Lake Superior State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school