Skip to content

Anderson University vs Columbia College

Anderson University is a private university in Anderson, SC. Columbia College is a private college in Columbia, SC. Anderson University admits about 55% of applicants and Columbia College about 94%, making Anderson University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $18,408 a year at Columbia College after aid, and about $23,544 at Anderson University. About 67% of students graduate at Anderson University, compared with 45% at Columbia College. Ten years after enrolling, Anderson University alumni earn a median of about $42,101, against $41,338 for Columbia College.

Anderson University

Anderson, SC · Private

Columbia College

Columbia, SC · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Anderson, SC
Columbia, SC
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
3,183
1,343
Acceptance rate
55%
94%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.46–3.96
3.09–3.59
SAT (middle 50%)
1100–1280
850–1140
ACT (middle 50%)
22–29
14–18
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$23,544
$18,408
Full cost / yr
$50,192
$35,258
In-state tuition
$34,970
$22,214
Out-of-state tuition
$34,970
$22,214
Application fee
$40
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$17,188
$17,541
$30k - $48k
$18,724
$17,017
$48k - $75k
$19,647
$16,816
$75k - $110k
$24,926
$22,928
Over $110k
$27,080
$20,399
Outcomes
Graduation rate
67%
45%
Freshman retention
82%
60%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$42,073
$45,863
Median earnings (10 yr)
$42,101
$41,338
Median debt at graduation
$26,700
$22,750
Student body
Pell grant recipients
21%
54%
First-generation students
25%
41%
International students
0%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Anderson University or Columbia College harder to get into?
Anderson University is harder to get into. It admits about 55% of applicants, compared with 94% at Columbia College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Anderson University or Columbia College?
Columbia College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,408 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $23,544 at Anderson University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Anderson University and Columbia College?
Before aid, Columbia College costs about $35,258 a year and Anderson University about $50,192. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Anderson University or Columbia College?
Anderson University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $17,188 there, against about $17,541 at Columbia College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Anderson University or Columbia College?
Anderson University is the larger of the two, with about 3,183 undergraduates against 1,343 at Columbia College.
Does Anderson University or Columbia College have a better graduation rate?
Anderson University has the higher graduation rate, at about 67% against 45% at Columbia College.
Do graduates of Anderson University or Columbia College earn more?
Anderson University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $42,101 ten years after enrolling, against about $41,338 for Columbia College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Anderson University and Columbia College require SAT or ACT scores?
Anderson University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Columbia College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Anderson University and Columbia College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1100–1280 at Anderson University and 850–1140 at Columbia College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school