Skip to content

Appalachian Bible College vs Davis & Elkins College

Appalachian Bible College is a private college in Mount Hope, WV, and Davis & Elkins College is a private college in Elkins, WV. Appalachian Bible College is the more selective of the two, admitting about 78% of applicants against 94% at Davis & Elkins College. Appalachian Bible College is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $11,579 a year against $18,273 at Davis & Elkins College. About 73% of students graduate at Appalachian Bible College, compared with 38% at Davis & Elkins College. Ten years after enrolling, Davis & Elkins College alumni earn a median of about $43,411, against $37,467 for Appalachian Bible College.

Appalachian Bible College

Mount Hope, WV · Private

Davis & Elkins College

Elkins, WV · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Mount Hope, WV
Elkins, WV
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
193
661
Acceptance rate
78%
94%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.28–3.78
3.14–3.64
SAT (middle 50%)
878–1106
880–1125
ACT (middle 50%)
21–23
1–14
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$11,579
$18,273
Full cost / yr
$31,423
$44,888
In-state tuition
$18,760
$31,820
Out-of-state tuition
$18,760
$31,820
Application fee
$35
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$8,772
$15,999
$30k - $48k
$10,235
$17,005
$48k - $75k
$12,717
$15,690
$75k - $110k
$12,721
$19,465
Over $110k
$15,143
$22,496
Outcomes
Graduation rate
73%
38%
Freshman retention
66%
65%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$29,147
$38,495
Median earnings (10 yr)
$37,467
$43,411
Median debt at graduation
$11,000
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
42%
43%
First-generation students
Not reported
48%
International students
4%
15%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Appalachian Bible College or Davis & Elkins College harder to get into?
Appalachian Bible College is harder to get into. It admits about 78% of applicants, compared with 94% at Davis & Elkins College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Appalachian Bible College or Davis & Elkins College?
Appalachian Bible College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $11,579 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $18,273 at Davis & Elkins College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Appalachian Bible College and Davis & Elkins College?
Before aid, Appalachian Bible College costs about $31,423 a year and Davis & Elkins College about $44,888. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Appalachian Bible College or Davis & Elkins College?
Appalachian Bible College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $8,772 there, against about $15,999 at Davis & Elkins College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Appalachian Bible College or Davis & Elkins College?
Davis & Elkins College is the larger of the two, with about 661 undergraduates against 193 at Appalachian Bible College.
Does Appalachian Bible College or Davis & Elkins College have a better graduation rate?
Appalachian Bible College has the higher graduation rate, at about 73% against 38% at Davis & Elkins College.
Do graduates of Appalachian Bible College or Davis & Elkins College earn more?
Davis & Elkins College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $43,411 ten years after enrolling, against about $37,467 for Appalachian Bible College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Appalachian Bible College and Davis & Elkins College require SAT or ACT scores?
Appalachian Bible College considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Davis & Elkins College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Appalachian Bible College and Davis & Elkins College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 878–1106 at Appalachian Bible College and 880–1125 at Davis & Elkins College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school