Skip to content

Appalachian Bible College vs University of Charleston

Appalachian Bible College is a private college in Mount Hope, WV, and University of Charleston is a private university in Charleston, WV. University of Charleston is the more selective of the two, admitting about 62% of applicants against 78% at Appalachian Bible College. Appalachian Bible College is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $11,579 a year against $22,107 at University of Charleston. About 73% of students graduate at Appalachian Bible College, compared with 46% at University of Charleston. Ten years after enrolling, University of Charleston alumni earn a median of about $55,774, against $37,467 for Appalachian Bible College.

Appalachian Bible College

Mount Hope, WV · Private

University of Charleston

Charleston, WV · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Mount Hope, WV
Charleston, WV
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
193
2,259
Acceptance rate
78%
62%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.28–3.78
3.4–3.9
SAT (middle 50%)
878–1106
985–1160
ACT (middle 50%)
21–23
19–23
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$11,579
$22,107
Full cost / yr
$31,423
$46,470
In-state tuition
$18,760
$33,800
Out-of-state tuition
$18,760
$33,800
Application fee
$35
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$8,772
$21,427
$30k - $48k
$10,235
$25,331
$48k - $75k
$12,717
$16,945
$75k - $110k
$12,721
$20,215
Over $110k
$15,143
$23,795
Outcomes
Graduation rate
73%
46%
Freshman retention
66%
75%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$29,147
$42,698
Median earnings (10 yr)
$37,467
$55,774
Median debt at graduation
$11,000
$19,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
42%
31%
First-generation students
Not reported
43%
International students
4%
8%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Appalachian Bible College or University of Charleston harder to get into?
University of Charleston is harder to get into. It admits about 62% of applicants, compared with 78% at Appalachian Bible College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Appalachian Bible College or University of Charleston?
Appalachian Bible College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $11,579 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,107 at University of Charleston. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Appalachian Bible College and University of Charleston?
Before aid, Appalachian Bible College costs about $31,423 a year and University of Charleston about $46,470. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Appalachian Bible College or University of Charleston?
Appalachian Bible College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $8,772 there, against about $21,427 at University of Charleston. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Appalachian Bible College or University of Charleston?
University of Charleston is the larger of the two, with about 2,259 undergraduates against 193 at Appalachian Bible College.
Does Appalachian Bible College or University of Charleston have a better graduation rate?
Appalachian Bible College has the higher graduation rate, at about 73% against 46% at University of Charleston.
Do graduates of Appalachian Bible College or University of Charleston earn more?
University of Charleston alumni earn more on average: a median of about $55,774 ten years after enrolling, against about $37,467 for Appalachian Bible College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Appalachian Bible College and University of Charleston require SAT or ACT scores?
Appalachian Bible College considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. University of Charleston is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Appalachian Bible College and University of Charleston look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 878–1106 at Appalachian Bible College and 985–1160 at University of Charleston. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school