Skip to content

Aquinas College vs Spring Arbor University

Aquinas College is a private college in Grand Rapids, MI, and Spring Arbor University is a private university in Spring Arbor, MI. Spring Arbor University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 52% of applicants against 90% at Aquinas College. Aquinas College is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $16,626 a year against $19,353 at Spring Arbor University. About 64% of students graduate at Aquinas College, compared with 61% at Spring Arbor University. Ten years after enrolling, Spring Arbor University alumni earn a median of about $51,732, against $49,584 for Aquinas College.

Aquinas College

Grand Rapids, MI · Private

Spring Arbor University

Spring Arbor, MI · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Grand Rapids, MI
Spring Arbor, MI
Setting
Urban
Rural
Undergraduates
1,083
1,010
Acceptance rate
90%
52%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.22–3.72
3.46–3.96
SAT (middle 50%)
910–1140
1010–1240
ACT (middle 50%)
20–26
17–25
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$16,626
$19,353
Full cost / yr
$51,652
$44,703
In-state tuition
$40,218
$34,014
Out-of-state tuition
$40,218
$34,014
Application fee
$0
$30
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$10,725
$14,530
$30k - $48k
$11,222
$15,697
$48k - $75k
$13,594
$16,197
$75k - $110k
$15,468
$19,358
Over $110k
$21,093
$21,370
Outcomes
Graduation rate
64%
61%
Freshman retention
78%
77%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$40,161
$45,592
Median earnings (10 yr)
$49,584
$51,732
Median debt at graduation
$23,000
$26,375
Student body
Pell grant recipients
24%
29%
First-generation students
22%
35%
International students
4%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Aquinas College or Spring Arbor University harder to get into?
Spring Arbor University is harder to get into. It admits about 52% of applicants, compared with 90% at Aquinas College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Aquinas College or Spring Arbor University?
Aquinas College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $16,626 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $19,353 at Spring Arbor University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Aquinas College and Spring Arbor University?
Before aid, Spring Arbor University costs about $44,703 a year and Aquinas College about $51,652. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Aquinas College or Spring Arbor University?
Aquinas College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,725 there, against about $14,530 at Spring Arbor University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Aquinas College or Spring Arbor University?
Aquinas College is the larger of the two, with about 1,083 undergraduates against 1,010 at Spring Arbor University.
Does Aquinas College or Spring Arbor University have a better graduation rate?
Aquinas College has the higher graduation rate, at about 64% against 61% at Spring Arbor University.
Do graduates of Aquinas College or Spring Arbor University earn more?
Spring Arbor University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $51,732 ten years after enrolling, against about $49,584 for Aquinas College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Aquinas College and Spring Arbor University require SAT or ACT scores?
Aquinas College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Spring Arbor University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Aquinas College and Spring Arbor University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 910–1140 at Aquinas College and 1010–1240 at Spring Arbor University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school