Skip to content

Augustana University vs Black Hills State University

Augustana University is a private university in Sioux Falls, SD, and Black Hills State University is a public university in Spearfish, SD. Augustana University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 68% of applicants against 96% at Black Hills State University. Black Hills State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $15,911 a year against $23,894 at Augustana University. About 74% of students graduate at Augustana University, compared with 40% at Black Hills State University. Ten years after enrolling, Augustana University alumni earn a median of about $59,217, against $46,674 for Black Hills State University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Augustana University

Sioux Falls, SD · Private

Black Hills State University

Spearfish, SD · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Sioux Falls, SD
Spearfish, SD
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,965
1,928
Acceptance rate
68%
96%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.48–3.98
3.13–3.63
SAT (middle 50%)
1150–1370
965–1135
ACT (middle 50%)
21–27
18–24
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$23,894
$15,911
Full cost / yr
$55,159
$21,277
In-state tuition
$40,160
$8,764
Out-of-state tuition
$40,160
$11,866
Application fee
$0
$20
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$18,746
$11,863
$30k - $48k
$18,895
$13,379
$48k - $75k
$17,937
$15,588
$75k - $110k
$24,787
$18,072
Over $110k
$27,327
$18,604
Outcomes
Graduation rate
74%
40%
Freshman retention
86%
72%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$49,826
$38,927
Median earnings (10 yr)
$59,217
$46,674
Median debt at graduation
$25,000
$26,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
18%
20%
First-generation students
14%
28%
International students
11%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Augustana University or Black Hills State University harder to get into?
Augustana University is harder to get into. It admits about 68% of applicants, compared with 96% at Black Hills State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Augustana University or Black Hills State University?
Black Hills State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,911 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $23,894 at Augustana University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Augustana University and Black Hills State University?
Before aid, Black Hills State University costs about $21,277 a year and Augustana University about $55,159. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Augustana University or Black Hills State University?
Black Hills State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $11,863 there, against about $18,746 at Augustana University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Augustana University or Black Hills State University?
Augustana University is the larger of the two, with about 1,965 undergraduates against 1,928 at Black Hills State University.
Does Augustana University or Black Hills State University have a better graduation rate?
Augustana University has the higher graduation rate, at about 74% against 40% at Black Hills State University.
Do graduates of Augustana University or Black Hills State University earn more?
Augustana University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $59,217 ten years after enrolling, against about $46,674 for Black Hills State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Augustana University and Black Hills State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Augustana University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Black Hills State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Augustana University and Black Hills State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1150–1370 at Augustana University and 965–1135 at Black Hills State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school