Skip to content

Avila University vs Missouri State University-Springfield

Avila University is a private university in Kansas City, MO, and Missouri State University-Springfield is a public university in Springfield, MO. Avila University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 88% of applicants against 91% at Missouri State University-Springfield. Avila University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $16,053 a year against $17,613 at Missouri State University-Springfield. About 58% of students graduate at Missouri State University-Springfield, compared with 47% at Avila University. Ten years after enrolling, Avila University alumni earn a median of about $52,773, against $49,827 for Missouri State University-Springfield.

Avila University

Kansas City, MO · Private

Missouri State University-Springfield

Springfield, MO · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Kansas City, MO
Springfield, MO
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,312
13,313
Acceptance rate
88%
91%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.16–3.66
3.27–3.77
SAT (middle 50%)
800–960
1020–1270
ACT (middle 50%)
16–21
19–26
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$16,053
$17,613
Full cost / yr
$50,096
$25,048
In-state tuition
$42,000
$9,502
Out-of-state tuition
$42,000
$18,770
Application fee
$0
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$15,694
$13,718
$30k - $48k
$14,939
$13,529
$48k - $75k
$14,682
$14,905
$75k - $110k
$17,852
$18,770
Over $110k
$19,775
$20,576
Outcomes
Graduation rate
47%
58%
Freshman retention
71%
77%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$48,975
$40,553
Median earnings (10 yr)
$52,773
$49,827
Median debt at graduation
$25,000
$21,992
Student body
Pell grant recipients
56%
22%
First-generation students
37%
32%
International students
4%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Avila University or Missouri State University-Springfield harder to get into?
Avila University is harder to get into. It admits about 88% of applicants, compared with 91% at Missouri State University-Springfield. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Avila University or Missouri State University-Springfield?
Avila University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $16,053 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $17,613 at Missouri State University-Springfield. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Avila University and Missouri State University-Springfield?
Before aid, Missouri State University-Springfield costs about $25,048 a year and Avila University about $50,096. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Avila University or Missouri State University-Springfield?
Missouri State University-Springfield. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $13,718 there, against about $15,694 at Avila University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Avila University or Missouri State University-Springfield?
Missouri State University-Springfield is the larger of the two, with about 13,313 undergraduates against 1,312 at Avila University.
Does Avila University or Missouri State University-Springfield have a better graduation rate?
Missouri State University-Springfield has the higher graduation rate, at about 58% against 47% at Avila University.
Do graduates of Avila University or Missouri State University-Springfield earn more?
Avila University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $52,773 ten years after enrolling, against about $49,827 for Missouri State University-Springfield. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Avila University and Missouri State University-Springfield require SAT or ACT scores?
Avila University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Missouri State University-Springfield considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Avila University and Missouri State University-Springfield look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 800–960 at Avila University and 1020–1270 at Missouri State University-Springfield. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school