Skip to content

Baker College vs Spring Arbor University

Baker College is a private college in Owosso, MI. Spring Arbor University is a private university in Spring Arbor, MI. Spring Arbor University admits about 52% of applicants and Baker College about 82%, making Spring Arbor University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $13,157 a year at Baker College after aid, and about $19,353 at Spring Arbor University. About 61% of students graduate at Spring Arbor University, compared with 33% at Baker College. Ten years after enrolling, Spring Arbor University alumni earn a median of about $51,732, against $35,833 for Baker College.

Baker College

Owosso, MI · Private

Spring Arbor University

Spring Arbor, MI · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Owosso, MI
Spring Arbor, MI
Setting
Suburban
Rural
Undergraduates
3,026
1,010
Acceptance rate
82%
52%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.33–3.83
3.46–3.96
SAT (middle 50%)
960–1160
1010–1240
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
17–25
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$13,157
$19,353
Full cost / yr
$24,526
$44,703
In-state tuition
$13,000
$34,014
Out-of-state tuition
$13,000
$34,014
Application fee
$30
$30
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$11,976
$14,530
$30k - $48k
$11,362
$15,697
$48k - $75k
$12,546
$16,197
$75k - $110k
$13,754
$19,358
Over $110k
$17,964
$21,370
Outcomes
Graduation rate
33%
61%
Freshman retention
66%
77%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$33,619
$45,592
Median earnings (10 yr)
$35,833
$51,732
Median debt at graduation
$25,000
$26,375
Student body
Pell grant recipients
38%
29%
First-generation students
47%
35%
International students
0%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Baker College or Spring Arbor University harder to get into?
Spring Arbor University is harder to get into. It admits about 52% of applicants, compared with 82% at Baker College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Baker College or Spring Arbor University?
Baker College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,157 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $19,353 at Spring Arbor University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Baker College and Spring Arbor University?
Before aid, Baker College costs about $24,526 a year and Spring Arbor University about $44,703. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Baker College or Spring Arbor University?
Baker College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $11,976 there, against about $14,530 at Spring Arbor University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Baker College or Spring Arbor University?
Baker College is the larger of the two, with about 3,026 undergraduates against 1,010 at Spring Arbor University.
Does Baker College or Spring Arbor University have a better graduation rate?
Spring Arbor University has the higher graduation rate, at about 61% against 33% at Baker College.
Do graduates of Baker College or Spring Arbor University earn more?
Spring Arbor University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $51,732 ten years after enrolling, against about $35,833 for Baker College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Baker College and Spring Arbor University require SAT or ACT scores?
Baker College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Spring Arbor University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Baker College and Spring Arbor University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 960–1160 at Baker College and 1010–1240 at Spring Arbor University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school