Skip to content

Ball State University vs Indiana University-Southeast

Ball State University is a public university in Muncie, IN. Indiana University-Southeast is a public university in New Albany, IN. Indiana University-Southeast admits about 84% of applicants and Ball State University about 86%, making Indiana University-Southeast the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $7,888 a year at Indiana University-Southeast after aid, and about $14,940 at Ball State University. About 63% of students graduate at Ball State University, compared with 36% at Indiana University-Southeast. Ten years after enrolling, Ball State University alumni earn a median of about $51,833, against $47,596 for Indiana University-Southeast.

Ball State University

Muncie, IN · Public

Indiana University-Southeast

New Albany, IN · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Muncie, IN
New Albany, IN
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
13,988
3,170
Acceptance rate
86%
84%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.36–3.86
3.32–3.82
SAT (middle 50%)
1080–1260
970–1180
ACT (middle 50%)
20–24
20–25
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$14,940
$7,888
Full cost / yr
$26,146
$16,411
In-state tuition
$11,082
$8,424
Out-of-state tuition
$29,630
$22,811
Application fee
$60
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$7,834
$3,782
$30k - $48k
$9,848
$4,978
$48k - $75k
$14,333
$7,046
$75k - $110k
$19,567
$11,730
Over $110k
$23,479
$14,276
Outcomes
Graduation rate
63%
36%
Freshman retention
78%
64%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$44,394
$42,290
Median earnings (10 yr)
$51,833
$47,596
Median debt at graduation
$23,250
$19,684
Student body
Pell grant recipients
35%
32%
First-generation students
28%
41%
International students
1%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
May 1
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Ball State University or Indiana University-Southeast harder to get into?
Indiana University-Southeast is harder to get into. It admits about 84% of applicants, compared with 86% at Ball State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Ball State University or Indiana University-Southeast?
Indiana University-Southeast is cheaper on average. Students pay about $7,888 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $14,940 at Ball State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Ball State University and Indiana University-Southeast?
Before aid, Indiana University-Southeast costs about $16,411 a year and Ball State University about $26,146. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Ball State University or Indiana University-Southeast?
Indiana University-Southeast. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $3,782 there, against about $7,834 at Ball State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Ball State University or Indiana University-Southeast?
Ball State University is the larger of the two, with about 13,988 undergraduates against 3,170 at Indiana University-Southeast.
Does Ball State University or Indiana University-Southeast have a better graduation rate?
Ball State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 63% against 36% at Indiana University-Southeast.
Do graduates of Ball State University or Indiana University-Southeast earn more?
Ball State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $51,833 ten years after enrolling, against about $47,596 for Indiana University-Southeast. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Ball State University and Indiana University-Southeast require SAT or ACT scores?
Ball State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Indiana University-Southeast is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Ball State University and Indiana University-Southeast look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1080–1260 at Ball State University and 970–1180 at Indiana University-Southeast. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school