Skip to content

Barton College vs Saint Augustine's University

Barton College is a private college in Wilson, NC. Saint Augustine's University is a private university in Raleigh, NC. Saint Augustine's University admits about 34% of applicants and Barton College about 94%, making Saint Augustine's University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $23,626 a year at Barton College after aid, and about $24,313 at Saint Augustine's University. About 48% of students graduate at Barton College, compared with 30% at Saint Augustine's University. Ten years after enrolling, Barton College alumni earn a median of about $47,913, against $35,730 for Saint Augustine's University.

Barton College

Wilson, NC · Private

Saint Augustine's University

Raleigh, NC · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Wilson, NC
Raleigh, NC
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
982
172
Acceptance rate
94%
34%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.14–3.64
3.2–3.9
SAT (middle 50%)
970–1150
780–940
ACT (middle 50%)
17–23
12–16
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$23,626
$24,313
Full cost / yr
$51,935
$33,179
In-state tuition
$37,250
$16,896
Out-of-state tuition
$37,250
$16,896
Application fee
$0
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$19,641
$27,815
$30k - $48k
$18,497
$20,801
$48k - $75k
$22,510
$23,499
$75k - $110k
$25,308
$19,943
Over $110k
$30,286
$21,944
Outcomes
Graduation rate
48%
30%
Freshman retention
65%
0%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$40,785
$26,999
Median earnings (10 yr)
$47,913
$35,730
Median debt at graduation
$25,877
$29,669
Student body
Pell grant recipients
37%
51%
First-generation students
35%
35%
International students
5%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Barton College or Saint Augustine's University harder to get into?
Saint Augustine's University is harder to get into. It admits about 34% of applicants, compared with 94% at Barton College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Barton College or Saint Augustine's University?
Barton College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $23,626 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $24,313 at Saint Augustine's University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Barton College and Saint Augustine's University?
Before aid, Saint Augustine's University costs about $33,179 a year and Barton College about $51,935. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Barton College or Saint Augustine's University?
Barton College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $19,641 there, against about $27,815 at Saint Augustine's University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Barton College or Saint Augustine's University?
Barton College is the larger of the two, with about 982 undergraduates against 172 at Saint Augustine's University.
Does Barton College or Saint Augustine's University have a better graduation rate?
Barton College has the higher graduation rate, at about 48% against 30% at Saint Augustine's University.
Do graduates of Barton College or Saint Augustine's University earn more?
Barton College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $47,913 ten years after enrolling, against about $35,730 for Saint Augustine's University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Barton College and Saint Augustine's University require SAT or ACT scores?
Barton College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Saint Augustine's University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Barton College and Saint Augustine's University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 970–1150 at Barton College and 780–940 at Saint Augustine's University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school