Skip to content

Bay Path University vs Fitchburg State University

Bay Path University is a private university in Longmeadow, MA, and Fitchburg State University is a public university in Fitchburg, MA. Bay Path University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 85% of applicants against 87% at Fitchburg State University. Fitchburg State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $14,262 a year against $14,271 at Bay Path University. About 54% of students graduate at Fitchburg State University, compared with 51% at Bay Path University. Ten years after enrolling, Bay Path University alumni earn a median of about $55,383, against $53,874 for Fitchburg State University.

Bay Path University

Longmeadow, MA · Private

Fitchburg State University

Fitchburg, MA · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Longmeadow, MA
Fitchburg, MA
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,108
2,752
Acceptance rate
85%
87%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.37–3.87
3.34–3.84
SAT (middle 50%)
1010–1210
1060–1230
ACT (middle 50%)
23–31
19–25
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$14,271
$14,262
Full cost / yr
$47,308
$25,555
In-state tuition
$38,302
$11,346
Out-of-state tuition
$38,302
$17,426
Application fee
$25
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$11,948
$10,204
$30k - $48k
$12,251
$11,199
$48k - $75k
$12,698
$11,540
$75k - $110k
$17,528
$15,571
Over $110k
$25,475
$21,123
Outcomes
Graduation rate
51%
54%
Freshman retention
73%
69%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$51,548
$41,999
Median earnings (10 yr)
$55,383
$53,874
Median debt at graduation
$24,901
$24,239
Student body
Pell grant recipients
64%
33%
First-generation students
50%
36%
International students
0%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Aug 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Bay Path University or Fitchburg State University harder to get into?
Bay Path University is harder to get into. It admits about 85% of applicants, compared with 87% at Fitchburg State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Bay Path University or Fitchburg State University?
Fitchburg State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $14,262 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $14,271 at Bay Path University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Bay Path University and Fitchburg State University?
Before aid, Fitchburg State University costs about $25,555 a year and Bay Path University about $47,308. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Bay Path University or Fitchburg State University?
Fitchburg State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $10,204 there, against about $11,948 at Bay Path University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Bay Path University or Fitchburg State University?
Fitchburg State University is the larger of the two, with about 2,752 undergraduates against 1,108 at Bay Path University.
Does Bay Path University or Fitchburg State University have a better graduation rate?
Fitchburg State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 54% against 51% at Bay Path University.
Do graduates of Bay Path University or Fitchburg State University earn more?
Bay Path University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $55,383 ten years after enrolling, against about $53,874 for Fitchburg State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Bay Path University and Fitchburg State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Bay Path University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Fitchburg State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Bay Path University and Fitchburg State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1010–1210 at Bay Path University and 1060–1230 at Fitchburg State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school