Skip to content

Bethany College vs Ottawa University-Ottawa

Bethany College is a private college in Lindsborg, KS, and Ottawa University-Ottawa is a private university in Ottawa, KS. Bethany College is the more selective of the two, admitting about 56% of applicants against 83% at Ottawa University-Ottawa. Bethany College is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $27,686 a year against $27,963 at Ottawa University-Ottawa. About 32% of students graduate at Bethany College, compared with 28% at Ottawa University-Ottawa. Ten years after enrolling, Ottawa University-Ottawa alumni earn a median of about $55,552, against $49,694 for Bethany College.

Bethany College

Lindsborg, KS · Private

Ottawa University-Ottawa

Ottawa, KS · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Lindsborg, KS
Ottawa, KS
Setting
Rural
Suburban
Undergraduates
569
870
Acceptance rate
56%
83%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.34–3.84
3.22–3.72
SAT (middle 50%)
883–1020
750–1000
ACT (middle 50%)
15–22
16–22
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$27,686
$27,963
Full cost / yr
$53,738
$51,856
In-state tuition
$33,000
$35,880
Out-of-state tuition
$33,000
$35,880
Application fee
$0
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$22,561
$22,449
$30k - $48k
$24,432
$22,912
$48k - $75k
$27,302
$25,525
$75k - $110k
$30,580
$30,199
Over $110k
$33,313
$30,771
Outcomes
Graduation rate
32%
28%
Freshman retention
43%
58%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$40,805
$49,139
Median earnings (10 yr)
$49,694
$55,552
Median debt at graduation
$23,250
$21,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
48%
37%
First-generation students
33%
40%
International students
2%
6%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Bethany College or Ottawa University-Ottawa harder to get into?
Bethany College is harder to get into. It admits about 56% of applicants, compared with 83% at Ottawa University-Ottawa. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Bethany College or Ottawa University-Ottawa?
Bethany College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $27,686 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $27,963 at Ottawa University-Ottawa. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Bethany College and Ottawa University-Ottawa?
Before aid, Ottawa University-Ottawa costs about $51,856 a year and Bethany College about $53,738. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Bethany College or Ottawa University-Ottawa?
Ottawa University-Ottawa. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $22,449 there, against about $22,561 at Bethany College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Bethany College or Ottawa University-Ottawa?
Ottawa University-Ottawa is the larger of the two, with about 870 undergraduates against 569 at Bethany College.
Does Bethany College or Ottawa University-Ottawa have a better graduation rate?
Bethany College has the higher graduation rate, at about 32% against 28% at Ottawa University-Ottawa.
Do graduates of Bethany College or Ottawa University-Ottawa earn more?
Ottawa University-Ottawa alumni earn more on average: a median of about $55,552 ten years after enrolling, against about $49,694 for Bethany College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Bethany College and Ottawa University-Ottawa require SAT or ACT scores?
Bethany College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Ottawa University-Ottawa considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Bethany College and Ottawa University-Ottawa look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 883–1020 at Bethany College and 750–1000 at Ottawa University-Ottawa. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school