Skip to content

Bethel College-North Newton vs Washburn University

Bethel College-North Newton is a private college in North Newton, KS. Washburn University is a public university in Topeka, KS. Bethel College-North Newton admits about 94% of applicants and Washburn University about 100%, making Bethel College-North Newton the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $15,280 a year at Washburn University after aid, and about $32,917 at Bethel College-North Newton. About 53% of students graduate at Washburn University, compared with 42% at Bethel College-North Newton. Ten years after enrolling, Bethel College-North Newton alumni earn a median of about $49,898, against $49,774 for Washburn University.

Bethel College-North Newton

North Newton, KS · Private

Washburn University

Topeka, KS · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
North Newton, KS
Topeka, KS
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
504
4,562
Acceptance rate
94%
100%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.09–3.59
3.19–3.69
SAT (middle 50%)
860–1090
1010–1210
ACT (middle 50%)
19–24
16–23
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$32,917
$15,280
Full cost / yr
$52,193
$21,512
In-state tuition
$35,014
$9,945
Out-of-state tuition
$35,014
$20,949
Application fee
Not reported
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$35,147
$20,310
$30k - $48k
$32,633
$9,693
$48k - $75k
$33,019
$10,758
$75k - $110k
$31,293
$13,922
Over $110k
$32,270
$15,472
Outcomes
Graduation rate
42%
53%
Freshman retention
62%
68%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$40,808
$42,881
Median earnings (10 yr)
$49,898
$49,774
Median debt at graduation
$24,000
$18,127
Student body
Pell grant recipients
41%
34%
First-generation students
34%
38%
International students
6%
6%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Bethel College-North Newton or Washburn University harder to get into?
Bethel College-North Newton is harder to get into. It admits about 94% of applicants, compared with 100% at Washburn University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Bethel College-North Newton or Washburn University?
Washburn University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,280 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $32,917 at Bethel College-North Newton. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Bethel College-North Newton and Washburn University?
Before aid, Washburn University costs about $21,512 a year and Bethel College-North Newton about $52,193. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Bethel College-North Newton or Washburn University?
Washburn University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $20,310 there, against about $35,147 at Bethel College-North Newton. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Bethel College-North Newton or Washburn University?
Washburn University is the larger of the two, with about 4,562 undergraduates against 504 at Bethel College-North Newton.
Does Bethel College-North Newton or Washburn University have a better graduation rate?
Washburn University has the higher graduation rate, at about 53% against 42% at Bethel College-North Newton.
Do graduates of Bethel College-North Newton or Washburn University earn more?
Bethel College-North Newton alumni earn more on average: a median of about $49,898 ten years after enrolling, against about $49,774 for Washburn University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Bethel College-North Newton and Washburn University require SAT or ACT scores?
Bethel College-North Newton considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Washburn University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Bethel College-North Newton and Washburn University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 860–1090 at Bethel College-North Newton and 1010–1210 at Washburn University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school