Skip to content

Bethel University vs University of Minnesota-Duluth

Bethel University is a private university in Saint Paul, MN. University of Minnesota-Duluth is a public university in Duluth, MN. Bethel University admits about 88% of applicants and University of Minnesota-Duluth about 89%, making Bethel University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $18,743 a year at University of Minnesota-Duluth after aid, and about $28,556 at Bethel University. About 73% of students graduate at Bethel University, compared with 65% at University of Minnesota-Duluth. Ten years after enrolling, Bethel University alumni earn a median of about $63,764, against $62,616 for University of Minnesota-Duluth.

Bethel University

Saint Paul, MN · Private

University of Minnesota-Duluth

Duluth, MN · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Saint Paul, MN
Duluth, MN
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,871
7,336
Acceptance rate
88%
89%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.37–3.87
3.35–3.85
SAT (middle 50%)
1190–1300
1180–1350
ACT (middle 50%)
22–28
23–28
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$28,556
$18,743
Full cost / yr
$58,569
$27,680
In-state tuition
$44,226
$14,610
Out-of-state tuition
$44,226
$20,130
Application fee
$30
$40
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$22,218
$7,256
$30k - $48k
$22,279
$8,145
$48k - $75k
$20,071
$11,965
$75k - $110k
$24,963
$17,056
Over $110k
$33,155
$24,453
Outcomes
Graduation rate
73%
65%
Freshman retention
86%
81%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$55,145
$52,840
Median earnings (10 yr)
$63,764
$62,616
Median debt at graduation
$21,500
$22,024
Student body
Pell grant recipients
19%
19%
First-generation students
19%
18%
International students
0%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Dec 1
Regular decision
Jul 25
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Bethel University or University of Minnesota-Duluth harder to get into?
Bethel University is harder to get into. It admits about 88% of applicants, compared with 89% at University of Minnesota-Duluth. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Bethel University or University of Minnesota-Duluth?
University of Minnesota-Duluth is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,743 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $28,556 at Bethel University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Bethel University and University of Minnesota-Duluth?
Before aid, University of Minnesota-Duluth costs about $27,680 a year and Bethel University about $58,569. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Bethel University or University of Minnesota-Duluth?
University of Minnesota-Duluth. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $7,256 there, against about $22,218 at Bethel University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Bethel University or University of Minnesota-Duluth?
University of Minnesota-Duluth is the larger of the two, with about 7,336 undergraduates against 1,871 at Bethel University.
Does Bethel University or University of Minnesota-Duluth have a better graduation rate?
Bethel University has the higher graduation rate, at about 73% against 65% at University of Minnesota-Duluth.
Do graduates of Bethel University or University of Minnesota-Duluth earn more?
Bethel University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $63,764 ten years after enrolling, against about $62,616 for University of Minnesota-Duluth. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Bethel University and University of Minnesota-Duluth require SAT or ACT scores?
Bethel University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. University of Minnesota-Duluth is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Bethel University and University of Minnesota-Duluth look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1190–1300 at Bethel University and 1180–1350 at University of Minnesota-Duluth. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school