Skip to content

Bethel University vs Southern Adventist University

Bethel University is a private university in McKenzie, TN. Southern Adventist University is a private university in Collegedale, TN. Bethel University admits about 60% of applicants and Southern Adventist University about 66%, making Bethel University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $12,595 a year at Bethel University after aid, and about $24,345 at Southern Adventist University. About 50% of students graduate at Southern Adventist University, compared with 35% at Bethel University. Ten years after enrolling, Southern Adventist University alumni earn a median of about $53,723, against $47,482 for Bethel University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Bethel University

McKenzie, TN · Private

Southern Adventist University

Collegedale, TN · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
McKenzie, TN
Collegedale, TN
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,547
2,773
Acceptance rate
60%
66%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.34–3.84
3.44–3.94
SAT (middle 50%)
830–1120
1020–1300
ACT (middle 50%)
15–21
19–25
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$12,595
$24,345
Full cost / yr
$31,203
$38,618
In-state tuition
$18,712
$27,300
Out-of-state tuition
$18,712
$27,300
Application fee
$30
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$11,871
$19,123
$30k - $48k
$17,356
$20,421
$48k - $75k
$11,713
$22,849
$75k - $110k
$10,473
$26,679
Over $110k
$15,163
$30,751
Outcomes
Graduation rate
35%
50%
Freshman retention
54%
83%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$38,990
$44,818
Median earnings (10 yr)
$47,482
$53,723
Median debt at graduation
$27,249
$24,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
32%
31%
First-generation students
51%
18%
International students
5%
8%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Jul 25
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Bethel University or Southern Adventist University harder to get into?
Bethel University is harder to get into. It admits about 60% of applicants, compared with 66% at Southern Adventist University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Bethel University or Southern Adventist University?
Bethel University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $12,595 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $24,345 at Southern Adventist University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Bethel University and Southern Adventist University?
Before aid, Bethel University costs about $31,203 a year and Southern Adventist University about $38,618. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Bethel University or Southern Adventist University?
Bethel University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $11,871 there, against about $19,123 at Southern Adventist University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Bethel University or Southern Adventist University?
Southern Adventist University is the larger of the two, with about 2,773 undergraduates against 1,547 at Bethel University.
Does Bethel University or Southern Adventist University have a better graduation rate?
Southern Adventist University has the higher graduation rate, at about 50% against 35% at Bethel University.
Do graduates of Bethel University or Southern Adventist University earn more?
Southern Adventist University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $53,723 ten years after enrolling, against about $47,482 for Bethel University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Bethel University and Southern Adventist University require SAT or ACT scores?
Bethel University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Southern Adventist University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Bethel University and Southern Adventist University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 830–1120 at Bethel University and 1020–1300 at Southern Adventist University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school