Skip to content

Blackburn College vs Millikin University

Blackburn College is a private college in Carlinville, IL, and Millikin University is a private university in Decatur, IL. Blackburn College is the more selective of the two, admitting about 63% of applicants against 67% at Millikin University. Blackburn College is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $18,460 a year against $21,989 at Millikin University. About 57% of students graduate at Millikin University, compared with 55% at Blackburn College. Ten years after enrolling, Millikin University alumni earn a median of about $51,262, against $46,802 for Blackburn College.

Blackburn College

Carlinville, IL · Private

Millikin University

Decatur, IL · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Carlinville, IL
Decatur, IL
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
471
1,382
Acceptance rate
63%
67%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.39–3.89
3.32–3.82
SAT (middle 50%)
888–1125
860–1130
ACT (middle 50%)
16–24
18–25
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,460
$21,989
Full cost / yr
$37,916
$57,475
In-state tuition
$28,149
$26,892
Out-of-state tuition
$28,149
$26,892
Application fee
$0
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,838
$18,659
$30k - $48k
$14,781
$15,629
$48k - $75k
$12,329
$23,053
$75k - $110k
$23,013
$24,622
Over $110k
$23,305
$27,524
Outcomes
Graduation rate
55%
57%
Freshman retention
67%
75%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$36,665
$43,100
Median earnings (10 yr)
$46,802
$51,262
Median debt at graduation
$24,242
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
50%
38%
First-generation students
44%
32%
International students
0%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Blackburn College or Millikin University harder to get into?
Blackburn College is harder to get into. It admits about 63% of applicants, compared with 67% at Millikin University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Blackburn College or Millikin University?
Blackburn College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,460 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $21,989 at Millikin University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Blackburn College and Millikin University?
Before aid, Blackburn College costs about $37,916 a year and Millikin University about $57,475. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Blackburn College or Millikin University?
Blackburn College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $16,838 there, against about $18,659 at Millikin University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Blackburn College or Millikin University?
Millikin University is the larger of the two, with about 1,382 undergraduates against 471 at Blackburn College.
Does Blackburn College or Millikin University have a better graduation rate?
Millikin University has the higher graduation rate, at about 57% against 55% at Blackburn College.
Do graduates of Blackburn College or Millikin University earn more?
Millikin University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $51,262 ten years after enrolling, against about $46,802 for Blackburn College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Blackburn College and Millikin University require SAT or ACT scores?
Blackburn College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Millikin University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Blackburn College and Millikin University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 888–1125 at Blackburn College and 860–1130 at Millikin University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school