Skip to content

Blackburn College vs University of St Francis

Blackburn College is a private college in Carlinville, IL, and University of St Francis is a private university in Joliet, IL. Blackburn College is the more selective of the two, admitting about 63% of applicants against 65% at University of St Francis. University of St Francis is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $13,006 a year against $18,460 at Blackburn College. About 66% of students graduate at University of St Francis, compared with 55% at Blackburn College. Ten years after enrolling, University of St Francis alumni earn a median of about $63,926, against $46,802 for Blackburn College.

Blackburn College

Carlinville, IL · Private

University of St Francis

Joliet, IL · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Carlinville, IL
Joliet, IL
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
471
1,223
Acceptance rate
63%
65%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.39–3.89
3.45–3.95
SAT (middle 50%)
888–1125
1030–1220
ACT (middle 50%)
16–24
20–32
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,460
$13,006
Full cost / yr
$37,916
$46,239
In-state tuition
$28,149
$38,110
Out-of-state tuition
$28,149
$38,110
Application fee
$0
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,838
$8,547
$30k - $48k
$14,781
$5,584
$48k - $75k
$12,329
$10,749
$75k - $110k
$23,013
$11,311
Over $110k
$23,305
$20,192
Outcomes
Graduation rate
55%
66%
Freshman retention
67%
79%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$36,665
$56,648
Median earnings (10 yr)
$46,802
$63,926
Median debt at graduation
$24,242
$21,079
Student body
Pell grant recipients
50%
39%
First-generation students
44%
42%
International students
0%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Blackburn College or University of St Francis harder to get into?
Blackburn College is harder to get into. It admits about 63% of applicants, compared with 65% at University of St Francis. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Blackburn College or University of St Francis?
University of St Francis is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,006 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $18,460 at Blackburn College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Blackburn College and University of St Francis?
Before aid, Blackburn College costs about $37,916 a year and University of St Francis about $46,239. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Blackburn College or University of St Francis?
University of St Francis. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $8,547 there, against about $16,838 at Blackburn College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Blackburn College or University of St Francis?
University of St Francis is the larger of the two, with about 1,223 undergraduates against 471 at Blackburn College.
Does Blackburn College or University of St Francis have a better graduation rate?
University of St Francis has the higher graduation rate, at about 66% against 55% at Blackburn College.
Do graduates of Blackburn College or University of St Francis earn more?
University of St Francis alumni earn more on average: a median of about $63,926 ten years after enrolling, against about $46,802 for Blackburn College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Blackburn College and University of St Francis require SAT or ACT scores?
Blackburn College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. University of St Francis is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Blackburn College and University of St Francis look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 888–1125 at Blackburn College and 1030–1220 at University of St Francis. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school