Skip to content

Bluefield University vs South University-Richmond

Bluefield University is a private university in Bluefield, VA. South University-Richmond is a private for-profit university in Glen Allen, VA. Students pay an average of about $25,573 a year at Bluefield University after aid, and about $30,442 at South University-Richmond. About 29% of students graduate at South University-Richmond, compared with 22% at Bluefield University. Ten years after enrolling, Bluefield University alumni earn a median of about $48,896, against $34,421 for South University-Richmond.

Bluefield University

Bluefield, VA · Private

South University-Richmond

Glen Allen, VA · Private (for-profit)
At a glance
Type
Private
Private (for-profit)
Location
Bluefield, VA
Glen Allen, VA
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
614
232
Acceptance rate
59%
Not reported
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.34–3.84
Not reported
SAT (middle 50%)
900–1070
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
16–22
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Not reported
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$25,573
$30,442
Full cost / yr
$42,539
$36,577
In-state tuition
$26,770
$18,145
Out-of-state tuition
$26,770
$18,145
Application fee
Not reported
$75
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$25,807
$29,903
$30k - $48k
$25,454
$31,379
$48k - $75k
$25,732
Not reported
$75k - $110k
$25,374
Not reported
Over $110k
$25,430
$33,277
Outcomes
Graduation rate
22%
29%
Freshman retention
61%
67%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$41,923
$34,115
Median earnings (10 yr)
$48,896
$34,421
Median debt at graduation
$21,855
$26,123
Student body
Pell grant recipients
51%
39%
First-generation students
43%
47%
International students
2%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, Bluefield University or South University-Richmond?
Bluefield University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $25,573 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $30,442 at South University-Richmond. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Bluefield University and South University-Richmond?
Before aid, South University-Richmond costs about $36,577 a year and Bluefield University about $42,539. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Bluefield University or South University-Richmond?
Bluefield University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $25,807 there, against about $29,903 at South University-Richmond. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Bluefield University or South University-Richmond?
Bluefield University is the larger of the two, with about 614 undergraduates against 232 at South University-Richmond.
Does Bluefield University or South University-Richmond have a better graduation rate?
South University-Richmond has the higher graduation rate, at about 29% against 22% at Bluefield University.
Do graduates of Bluefield University or South University-Richmond earn more?
Bluefield University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $48,896 ten years after enrolling, against about $34,421 for South University-Richmond. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school