Skip to content

Bluefield University vs Southern Virginia University

Bluefield University is a private university in Bluefield, VA. Southern Virginia University is a private university in Buena Vista, VA. Bluefield University admits about 59% of applicants and Southern Virginia University about 96%, making Bluefield University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $22,213 a year at Southern Virginia University after aid, and about $25,573 at Bluefield University. About 36% of students graduate at Southern Virginia University, compared with 22% at Bluefield University. Ten years after enrolling, Southern Virginia University alumni earn a median of about $50,002, against $48,896 for Bluefield University.

Bluefield University

Bluefield, VA · Private

Southern Virginia University

Buena Vista, VA · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Bluefield, VA
Buena Vista, VA
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
614
936
Acceptance rate
59%
96%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.34–3.84
3.13–3.63
SAT (middle 50%)
900–1070
943–1253
ACT (middle 50%)
16–22
18–25
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$25,573
$22,213
Full cost / yr
$42,539
$34,431
In-state tuition
$26,770
$21,280
Out-of-state tuition
$26,770
$21,280
Application fee
Not reported
$35
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$25,807
$18,957
$30k - $48k
$25,454
$19,501
$48k - $75k
$25,732
$20,630
$75k - $110k
$25,374
$23,407
Over $110k
$25,430
$27,108
Outcomes
Graduation rate
22%
36%
Freshman retention
61%
74%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$41,923
$36,988
Median earnings (10 yr)
$48,896
$50,002
Median debt at graduation
$21,855
$24,224
Student body
Pell grant recipients
51%
45%
First-generation students
43%
17%
International students
2%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Bluefield University or Southern Virginia University harder to get into?
Bluefield University is harder to get into. It admits about 59% of applicants, compared with 96% at Southern Virginia University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Bluefield University or Southern Virginia University?
Southern Virginia University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $22,213 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $25,573 at Bluefield University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Bluefield University and Southern Virginia University?
Before aid, Southern Virginia University costs about $34,431 a year and Bluefield University about $42,539. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Bluefield University or Southern Virginia University?
Southern Virginia University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $18,957 there, against about $25,807 at Bluefield University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Bluefield University or Southern Virginia University?
Southern Virginia University is the larger of the two, with about 936 undergraduates against 614 at Bluefield University.
Does Bluefield University or Southern Virginia University have a better graduation rate?
Southern Virginia University has the higher graduation rate, at about 36% against 22% at Bluefield University.
Do graduates of Bluefield University or Southern Virginia University earn more?
Southern Virginia University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $50,002 ten years after enrolling, against about $48,896 for Bluefield University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Bluefield University and Southern Virginia University require SAT or ACT scores?
Bluefield University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Southern Virginia University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Bluefield University and Southern Virginia University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 900–1070 at Bluefield University and 943–1253 at Southern Virginia University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school