Skip to content

Bluffton University vs Capital University

Bluffton University is a private university in Bluffton, OH. Capital University is a private university in Columbus, OH. Bluffton University admits about 67% of applicants and Capital University about 70%, making Bluffton University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $19,943 a year at Bluffton University after aid, and about $22,576 at Capital University. About 63% of students graduate at Capital University, compared with 51% at Bluffton University. Ten years after enrolling, Capital University alumni earn a median of about $54,143, against $49,547 for Bluffton University.

Bluffton University

Bluffton, OH · Private

Capital University

Columbus, OH · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Bluffton, OH
Columbus, OH
Setting
Rural
Suburban
Undergraduates
582
1,585
Acceptance rate
67%
70%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.32–3.82
3.37–3.87
SAT (middle 50%)
860–1130
910–1180
ACT (middle 50%)
16–22
18–25
Test policy
Test optional
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$19,943
$22,576
Full cost / yr
$51,862
$57,130
In-state tuition
$37,362
$43,234
Out-of-state tuition
$37,362
$43,234
Application fee
$0
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,363
$19,062
$30k - $48k
$16,689
$18,574
$48k - $75k
$18,469
$20,331
$75k - $110k
$21,233
$23,348
Over $110k
$26,321
$27,299
Outcomes
Graduation rate
51%
63%
Freshman retention
60%
76%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$41,940
$45,767
Median earnings (10 yr)
$49,547
$54,143
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$26,889
Student body
Pell grant recipients
45%
34%
First-generation students
33%
28%
International students
1%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Bluffton University or Capital University harder to get into?
Bluffton University is harder to get into. It admits about 67% of applicants, compared with 70% at Capital University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Bluffton University or Capital University?
Bluffton University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $19,943 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,576 at Capital University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Bluffton University and Capital University?
Before aid, Bluffton University costs about $51,862 a year and Capital University about $57,130. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Bluffton University or Capital University?
Bluffton University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $16,363 there, against about $19,062 at Capital University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Bluffton University or Capital University?
Capital University is the larger of the two, with about 1,585 undergraduates against 582 at Bluffton University.
Does Bluffton University or Capital University have a better graduation rate?
Capital University has the higher graduation rate, at about 63% against 51% at Bluffton University.
Do graduates of Bluffton University or Capital University earn more?
Capital University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $54,143 ten years after enrolling, against about $49,547 for Bluffton University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Bluffton University and Capital University require SAT or ACT scores?
Bluffton University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Capital University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Bluffton University and Capital University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 860–1130 at Bluffton University and 910–1180 at Capital University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school