Skip to content

Bluffton University vs Columbus College of Art & Design

Bluffton University is a private university in Bluffton, OH. Columbus College of Art & Design is a private college in Columbus, OH. Bluffton University admits about 67% of applicants and Columbus College of Art & Design about 68%, making Bluffton University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $19,943 a year at Bluffton University after aid, and about $29,439 at Columbus College of Art & Design. About 59% of students graduate at Columbus College of Art & Design, compared with 51% at Bluffton University. Ten years after enrolling, Bluffton University alumni earn a median of about $49,547, against $40,664 for Columbus College of Art & Design.

Bluffton University

Bluffton, OH · Private

Columbus College of Art & Design

Columbus, OH · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Bluffton, OH
Columbus, OH
Setting
Rural
Urban
Undergraduates
582
882
Acceptance rate
67%
68%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.32–3.82
3.38–3.88
SAT (middle 50%)
860–1130
970–1220
ACT (middle 50%)
16–22
18–24
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$19,943
$29,439
Full cost / yr
$51,862
$54,443
In-state tuition
$37,362
$40,825
Out-of-state tuition
$37,362
$40,825
Application fee
$0
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,363
$24,204
$30k - $48k
$16,689
$27,218
$48k - $75k
$18,469
$27,534
$75k - $110k
$21,233
$29,717
Over $110k
$26,321
$33,114
Outcomes
Graduation rate
51%
59%
Freshman retention
60%
80%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$41,940
$30,590
Median earnings (10 yr)
$49,547
$40,664
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
45%
39%
First-generation students
33%
25%
International students
1%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Bluffton University or Columbus College of Art & Design harder to get into?
Bluffton University is harder to get into. It admits about 67% of applicants, compared with 68% at Columbus College of Art & Design. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Bluffton University or Columbus College of Art & Design?
Bluffton University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $19,943 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $29,439 at Columbus College of Art & Design. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Bluffton University and Columbus College of Art & Design?
Before aid, Bluffton University costs about $51,862 a year and Columbus College of Art & Design about $54,443. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Bluffton University or Columbus College of Art & Design?
Bluffton University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $16,363 there, against about $24,204 at Columbus College of Art & Design. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Bluffton University or Columbus College of Art & Design?
Columbus College of Art & Design is the larger of the two, with about 882 undergraduates against 582 at Bluffton University.
Does Bluffton University or Columbus College of Art & Design have a better graduation rate?
Columbus College of Art & Design has the higher graduation rate, at about 59% against 51% at Bluffton University.
Do graduates of Bluffton University or Columbus College of Art & Design earn more?
Bluffton University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $49,547 ten years after enrolling, against about $40,664 for Columbus College of Art & Design. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Bluffton University and Columbus College of Art & Design require SAT or ACT scores?
Bluffton University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Columbus College of Art & Design is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Bluffton University and Columbus College of Art & Design look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 860–1130 at Bluffton University and 970–1220 at Columbus College of Art & Design. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school