Skip to content

Bob Jones University vs Winthrop University

Bob Jones University is a private university in Greenville, SC. Winthrop University is a public university in Rock Hill, SC. Winthrop University admits about 79% of applicants and Bob Jones University about 84%, making Winthrop University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $15,343 a year at Winthrop University after aid, and about $16,641 at Bob Jones University. About 67% of students graduate at Bob Jones University, compared with 59% at Winthrop University. Ten years after enrolling, Winthrop University alumni earn a median of about $47,185, against $44,354 for Bob Jones University.

Bob Jones University

Greenville, SC · Private

Winthrop University

Rock Hill, SC · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Greenville, SC
Rock Hill, SC
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
2,005
3,523
Acceptance rate
84%
79%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.38–3.88
3.39–3.89
SAT (middle 50%)
1010–1240
1010–1220
ACT (middle 50%)
20–27
20–27
Test policy
Required
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$16,641
$15,343
Full cost / yr
$36,580
$30,710
In-state tuition
$24,470
$14,678
Out-of-state tuition
$24,470
$28,676
Application fee
$25
$50
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$14,287
$12,608
$30k - $48k
$13,936
$12,983
$48k - $75k
$15,414
$13,966
$75k - $110k
$17,997
$18,518
Over $110k
$23,972
$21,359
Outcomes
Graduation rate
67%
59%
Freshman retention
82%
74%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$40,892
$39,048
Median earnings (10 yr)
$44,354
$47,185
Median debt at graduation
$16,585
$26,975
Student body
Pell grant recipients
33%
41%
First-generation students
14%
28%
International students
8%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Bob Jones University or Winthrop University harder to get into?
Winthrop University is harder to get into. It admits about 79% of applicants, compared with 84% at Bob Jones University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Bob Jones University or Winthrop University?
Winthrop University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,343 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $16,641 at Bob Jones University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Bob Jones University and Winthrop University?
Before aid, Winthrop University costs about $30,710 a year and Bob Jones University about $36,580. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Bob Jones University or Winthrop University?
Winthrop University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $12,608 there, against about $14,287 at Bob Jones University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Bob Jones University or Winthrop University?
Winthrop University is the larger of the two, with about 3,523 undergraduates against 2,005 at Bob Jones University.
Does Bob Jones University or Winthrop University have a better graduation rate?
Bob Jones University has the higher graduation rate, at about 67% against 59% at Winthrop University.
Do graduates of Bob Jones University or Winthrop University earn more?
Winthrop University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $47,185 ten years after enrolling, against about $44,354 for Bob Jones University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Bob Jones University and Winthrop University require SAT or ACT scores?
Bob Jones University requires SAT or ACT scores. Winthrop University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Bob Jones University and Winthrop University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1010–1240 at Bob Jones University and 1010–1220 at Winthrop University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school