Skip to content

Boise State University vs Lewis-Clark State College

Boise State University is a public university in Boise, ID. Lewis-Clark State College is a public college in Lewiston, ID. Boise State University admits about 87% of applicants and Lewis-Clark State College about 88%, making Boise State University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $15,635 a year at Lewis-Clark State College after aid, and about $21,610 at Boise State University. About 61% of students graduate at Boise State University, compared with 43% at Lewis-Clark State College. Ten years after enrolling, Boise State University alumni earn a median of about $51,658, against $46,001 for Lewis-Clark State College.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

Boise State University

Boise, ID · Public

Lewis-Clark State College

Lewiston, ID · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Boise, ID
Lewiston, ID
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
17,674
2,385
Acceptance rate
87%
88%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.33–3.83
3.2–3.7
SAT (middle 50%)
1030–1210
850–1110
ACT (middle 50%)
21–26
17–22
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$21,610
$15,635
Full cost / yr
$28,224
$21,925
In-state tuition
$9,048
$7,610
Out-of-state tuition
$27,788
$22,028
Application fee
$50
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$18,165
$13,080
$30k - $48k
$17,974
$14,044
$48k - $75k
$20,731
$15,127
$75k - $110k
$23,573
$17,934
Over $110k
$25,893
$19,004
Outcomes
Graduation rate
61%
43%
Freshman retention
79%
61%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$45,251
$42,133
Median earnings (10 yr)
$51,658
$46,001
Median debt at graduation
$20,500
$18,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
18%
24%
First-generation students
33%
40%
International students
1%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Feb 15
Not reported

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Boise State University or Lewis-Clark State College harder to get into?
Boise State University is harder to get into. It admits about 87% of applicants, compared with 88% at Lewis-Clark State College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Boise State University or Lewis-Clark State College?
Lewis-Clark State College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,635 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $21,610 at Boise State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Boise State University and Lewis-Clark State College?
Before aid, Lewis-Clark State College costs about $21,925 a year and Boise State University about $28,224. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Boise State University or Lewis-Clark State College?
Lewis-Clark State College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $13,080 there, against about $18,165 at Boise State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Boise State University or Lewis-Clark State College?
Boise State University is the larger of the two, with about 17,674 undergraduates against 2,385 at Lewis-Clark State College.
Does Boise State University or Lewis-Clark State College have a better graduation rate?
Boise State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 61% against 43% at Lewis-Clark State College.
Do graduates of Boise State University or Lewis-Clark State College earn more?
Boise State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $51,658 ten years after enrolling, against about $46,001 for Lewis-Clark State College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Boise State University and Lewis-Clark State College require SAT or ACT scores?
Boise State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Lewis-Clark State College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Boise State University and Lewis-Clark State College look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1030–1210 at Boise State University and 850–1110 at Lewis-Clark State College. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school