Skip to content

Bowie State University vs Capitol Technology University

Bowie State University is a public university in Bowie, MD, and Capitol Technology University is a private university in Laurel, MD. Bowie State University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 72% of applicants against 74% at Capitol Technology University. Bowie State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $19,298 a year against $22,102 at Capitol Technology University. About 44% of students graduate at Capitol Technology University, compared with 38% at Bowie State University. Ten years after enrolling, Capitol Technology University alumni earn a median of about $85,035, against $54,537 for Bowie State University.

Bowie State University

Bowie, MD · Public

Capitol Technology University

Laurel, MD · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Bowie, MD
Laurel, MD
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
5,043
315
Acceptance rate
72%
74%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.3–3.8
3.41–3.91
SAT (middle 50%)
796–1083
1020–1230
ACT (middle 50%)
17–20
19–25
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$19,298
$22,102
Full cost / yr
$25,220
$42,471
In-state tuition
$9,218
$27,592
Out-of-state tuition
$19,938
$27,592
Application fee
$40
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$17,071
$19,682
$30k - $48k
$16,646
$17,134
$48k - $75k
$19,163
$15,161
$75k - $110k
$22,808
$27,961
Over $110k
$24,919
$25,778
Outcomes
Graduation rate
38%
44%
Freshman retention
68%
77%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$43,877
$76,545
Median earnings (10 yr)
$54,537
$85,035
Median debt at graduation
$22,985
$20,264
Student body
Pell grant recipients
44%
39%
First-generation students
36%
36%
International students
2%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Dec 1
Not reported
Regular decision
Jun 1
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Bowie State University or Capitol Technology University harder to get into?
Bowie State University is harder to get into. It admits about 72% of applicants, compared with 74% at Capitol Technology University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Bowie State University or Capitol Technology University?
Bowie State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $19,298 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,102 at Capitol Technology University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Bowie State University and Capitol Technology University?
Before aid, Bowie State University costs about $25,220 a year and Capitol Technology University about $42,471. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Bowie State University or Capitol Technology University?
Bowie State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $17,071 there, against about $19,682 at Capitol Technology University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Bowie State University or Capitol Technology University?
Bowie State University is the larger of the two, with about 5,043 undergraduates against 315 at Capitol Technology University.
Does Bowie State University or Capitol Technology University have a better graduation rate?
Capitol Technology University has the higher graduation rate, at about 44% against 38% at Bowie State University.
Do graduates of Bowie State University or Capitol Technology University earn more?
Capitol Technology University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $85,035 ten years after enrolling, against about $54,537 for Bowie State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Bowie State University and Capitol Technology University require SAT or ACT scores?
Bowie State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Capitol Technology University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Bowie State University and Capitol Technology University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 796–1083 at Bowie State University and 1020–1230 at Capitol Technology University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school