Skip to content

Bowling Green State University-Main Campus vs Franklin University

Bowling Green State University-Main Campus is a public university in Bowling Green, OH. Franklin University is a private university in Columbus, OH. Bowling Green State University-Main Campus admits about 81% of applicants and Franklin University about 86%, making Bowling Green State University-Main Campus the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $24,022 a year at Bowling Green State University-Main Campus after aid, and about $25,243 at Franklin University. About 63% of students graduate at Bowling Green State University-Main Campus, compared with 21% at Franklin University. Ten years after enrolling, Franklin University alumni earn a median of about $51,892, against $47,896 for Bowling Green State University-Main Campus.

Bowling Green State University-Main Campus

Bowling Green, OH · Public

Franklin University

Columbus, OH · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Bowling Green, OH
Columbus, OH
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
12,812
5,562
Acceptance rate
81%
86%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.39–3.89
3.43–3.93
SAT (middle 50%)
1000–1210
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
19–26
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$24,022
$25,243
Full cost / yr
$33,007
$30,696
In-state tuition
$14,460
$9,577
Out-of-state tuition
$22,448
$9,577
Application fee
$45
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$18,396
$24,968
$30k - $48k
$18,547
$25,876
$48k - $75k
$21,820
$24,690
$75k - $110k
$25,741
$25,389
Over $110k
$27,414
$29,964
Outcomes
Graduation rate
63%
21%
Freshman retention
82%
36%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$41,281
$49,189
Median earnings (10 yr)
$47,896
$51,892
Median debt at graduation
$25,000
$20,836
Student body
Pell grant recipients
23%
37%
First-generation students
30%
50%
International students
2%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Feb 19
Not reported
Regular decision
Aug 1
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Bowling Green State University-Main Campus or Franklin University harder to get into?
Bowling Green State University-Main Campus is harder to get into. It admits about 81% of applicants, compared with 86% at Franklin University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Bowling Green State University-Main Campus or Franklin University?
Bowling Green State University-Main Campus is cheaper on average. Students pay about $24,022 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $25,243 at Franklin University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Bowling Green State University-Main Campus and Franklin University?
Before aid, Franklin University costs about $30,696 a year and Bowling Green State University-Main Campus about $33,007. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Bowling Green State University-Main Campus or Franklin University?
Bowling Green State University-Main Campus. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $18,396 there, against about $24,968 at Franklin University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Bowling Green State University-Main Campus or Franklin University?
Bowling Green State University-Main Campus is the larger of the two, with about 12,812 undergraduates against 5,562 at Franklin University.
Does Bowling Green State University-Main Campus or Franklin University have a better graduation rate?
Bowling Green State University-Main Campus has the higher graduation rate, at about 63% against 21% at Franklin University.
Do graduates of Bowling Green State University-Main Campus or Franklin University earn more?
Franklin University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $51,892 ten years after enrolling, against about $47,896 for Bowling Green State University-Main Campus. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Bowling Green State University-Main Campus and Franklin University require SAT or ACT scores?
Bowling Green State University-Main Campus is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Franklin University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school