Skip to content

Brevard College vs North Carolina A & T State University

Brevard College is a private college in Brevard, NC, and North Carolina A & T State University is a public university in Greensboro, NC. Brevard College is the more selective of the two, admitting about 42% of applicants against 50% at North Carolina A & T State University. North Carolina A & T State University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $10,846 a year against $23,509 at Brevard College. About 56% of students graduate at North Carolina A & T State University, compared with 44% at Brevard College. Ten years after enrolling, North Carolina A & T State University alumni earn a median of about $44,440, against $43,545 for Brevard College.

Brevard College

Brevard, NC · Private

North Carolina A & T State University

Greensboro, NC · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Brevard, NC
Greensboro, NC
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
815
12,182
Acceptance rate
42%
50%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.3–4
3.36–4
SAT (middle 50%)
870–1220
1020–1190
ACT (middle 50%)
16–26
17–23
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$23,509
$10,846
Full cost / yr
$47,288
$20,427
In-state tuition
$32,280
$6,813
Out-of-state tuition
$32,280
$20,673
Application fee
$0
$60
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$19,294
$8,223
$30k - $48k
$23,532
$9,462
$48k - $75k
$21,304
$11,973
$75k - $110k
$25,337
$16,454
Over $110k
$28,763
$17,311
Outcomes
Graduation rate
44%
56%
Freshman retention
62%
78%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$34,401
$36,638
Median earnings (10 yr)
$43,545
$44,440
Median debt at graduation
$25,000
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
41%
52%
First-generation students
29%
28%
International students
7%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Jun 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Brevard College or North Carolina A & T State University harder to get into?
Brevard College is harder to get into. It admits about 42% of applicants, compared with 50% at North Carolina A & T State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Brevard College or North Carolina A & T State University?
North Carolina A & T State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $10,846 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $23,509 at Brevard College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Brevard College and North Carolina A & T State University?
Before aid, North Carolina A & T State University costs about $20,427 a year and Brevard College about $47,288. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Brevard College or North Carolina A & T State University?
North Carolina A & T State University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $8,223 there, against about $19,294 at Brevard College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Brevard College or North Carolina A & T State University?
North Carolina A & T State University is the larger of the two, with about 12,182 undergraduates against 815 at Brevard College.
Does Brevard College or North Carolina A & T State University have a better graduation rate?
North Carolina A & T State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 56% against 44% at Brevard College.
Do graduates of Brevard College or North Carolina A & T State University earn more?
North Carolina A & T State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $44,440 ten years after enrolling, against about $43,545 for Brevard College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Brevard College and North Carolina A & T State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Brevard College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. North Carolina A & T State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Brevard College and North Carolina A & T State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 870–1220 at Brevard College and 1020–1190 at North Carolina A & T State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school