Skip to content

Brewton-Parker College vs Shorter University

Brewton-Parker College is a private college in Mount Vernon, GA. Shorter University is a private university in Rome, GA. Both admit about 96% of applicants. Students pay an average of about $16,646 a year at Shorter University after aid, and about $26,054 at Brewton-Parker College. About 37% of students graduate at Shorter University, compared with 22% at Brewton-Parker College. Ten years after enrolling, Shorter University alumni earn a median of about $44,604, against $42,009 for Brewton-Parker College.

Brewton-Parker College

Mount Vernon, GA · Private

Shorter University

Rome, GA · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Mount Vernon, GA
Rome, GA
Setting
Rural
Urban
Undergraduates
774
1,028
Acceptance rate
96%
96%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.06–3.56
3.19–3.69
SAT (middle 50%)
880–1010
1040–1200
ACT (middle 50%)
18–23
18–25
Test policy
Test blind
Considered
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$26,054
$16,646
Full cost / yr
$38,918
$35,726
In-state tuition
$20,120
$24,630
Out-of-state tuition
$20,120
$24,630
Application fee
$35
$25
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$24,574
$15,929
$30k - $48k
$24,633
$21,482
$48k - $75k
$27,082
$22,944
$75k - $110k
$28,590
$21,292
Over $110k
$29,357
$18,898
Outcomes
Graduation rate
22%
37%
Freshman retention
48%
61%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$35,732
$41,860
Median earnings (10 yr)
$42,009
$44,604
Median debt at graduation
$24,990
$25,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
45%
38%
First-generation students
38%
35%
International students
5%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Aug 1
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Brewton-Parker College or Shorter University harder to get into?
They are about equally selective: both admit around 96% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Brewton-Parker College or Shorter University?
Shorter University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $16,646 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $26,054 at Brewton-Parker College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Brewton-Parker College and Shorter University?
Before aid, Shorter University costs about $35,726 a year and Brewton-Parker College about $38,918. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Brewton-Parker College or Shorter University?
Shorter University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $15,929 there, against about $24,574 at Brewton-Parker College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Brewton-Parker College or Shorter University?
Shorter University is the larger of the two, with about 1,028 undergraduates against 774 at Brewton-Parker College.
Does Brewton-Parker College or Shorter University have a better graduation rate?
Shorter University has the higher graduation rate, at about 37% against 22% at Brewton-Parker College.
Do graduates of Brewton-Parker College or Shorter University earn more?
Shorter University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $44,604 ten years after enrolling, against about $42,009 for Brewton-Parker College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Brewton-Parker College and Shorter University require SAT or ACT scores?
Brewton-Parker College is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. Shorter University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them.
What SAT scores do Brewton-Parker College and Shorter University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 880–1010 at Brewton-Parker College and 1040–1200 at Shorter University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school