Skip to content

Briar Cliff University vs Cornell College

Briar Cliff University is a private university in Sioux City, IA, and Cornell College is a private college in Mount Vernon, IA. Cornell College is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $23,634 a year against $23,907 at Briar Cliff University. About 67% of students graduate at Cornell College, compared with 48% at Briar Cliff University. Ten years after enrolling, Briar Cliff University alumni earn a median of about $54,475, against $53,460 for Cornell College.

Briar Cliff University

Sioux City, IA · Private

Cornell College

Mount Vernon, IA · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Sioux City, IA
Mount Vernon, IA
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
624
1,086
Acceptance rate
Not reported
80%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
Not reported
3.44–3.94
SAT (middle 50%)
Not reported
1120–1285
ACT (middle 50%)
Not reported
23–30
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$23,907
$23,634
Full cost / yr
$51,493
$66,249
In-state tuition
$36,956
$52,660
Out-of-state tuition
$36,956
$52,660
Application fee
$0
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$17,764
$16,409
$30k - $48k
$14,604
$18,513
$48k - $75k
$25,516
$20,177
$75k - $110k
$30,156
$22,944
Over $110k
$27,328
$29,298
Outcomes
Graduation rate
48%
67%
Freshman retention
64%
80%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$48,338
$39,299
Median earnings (10 yr)
$54,475
$53,460
Median debt at graduation
$23,250
$27,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
53%
32%
First-generation students
36%
20%
International students
13%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Mar 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, Briar Cliff University or Cornell College?
Cornell College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $23,634 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $23,907 at Briar Cliff University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Briar Cliff University and Cornell College?
Before aid, Briar Cliff University costs about $51,493 a year and Cornell College about $66,249. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Briar Cliff University or Cornell College?
Cornell College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $16,409 there, against about $17,764 at Briar Cliff University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Briar Cliff University or Cornell College?
Cornell College is the larger of the two, with about 1,086 undergraduates against 624 at Briar Cliff University.
Does Briar Cliff University or Cornell College have a better graduation rate?
Cornell College has the higher graduation rate, at about 67% against 48% at Briar Cliff University.
Do graduates of Briar Cliff University or Cornell College earn more?
Briar Cliff University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $54,475 ten years after enrolling, against about $53,460 for Cornell College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Briar Cliff University and Cornell College require SAT or ACT scores?
Briar Cliff University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Cornell College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school