Skip to content

California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo vs San Diego State University

California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo is a public university in San Luis Obispo, CA. San Diego State University is a public university in San Diego, CA. California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo admits about 31% of applicants and San Diego State University about 36%, making California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $15,364 a year at San Diego State University after aid, and about $16,665 at California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo. About 86% of students graduate at California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo, compared with 77% at San Diego State University. Ten years after enrolling, California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo alumni earn a median of about $90,768, against $64,909 for San Diego State University.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo

San Luis Obispo, CA · Public

San Diego State University

San Diego, CA · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
San Luis Obispo, CA
San Diego, CA
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
21,996
35,377
Acceptance rate
31%
36%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.45–4
~3.82 avg
SAT (middle 50%)
1220–1410
1090–1300
ACT (middle 50%)
26–32
22–29
Test policy
Test blind
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$16,665
$15,364
Full cost / yr
$32,265
$27,780
In-state tuition
$13,596
$8,728
Out-of-state tuition
$34,665
$21,328
Application fee
$70
$70
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$7,529
$9,910
$30k - $48k
$7,253
$10,017
$48k - $75k
$9,896
$12,697
$75k - $110k
$15,786
$15,891
Over $110k
$27,772
$23,821
Outcomes
Graduation rate
86%
77%
Freshman retention
96%
91%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$72,358
$52,620
Median earnings (10 yr)
$90,768
$64,909
Median debt at graduation
$18,500
$15,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
19%
32%
First-generation students
25%
41%
International students
1%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Nov 30
Nov 30

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo or San Diego State University harder to get into?
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo is harder to get into. It admits about 31% of applicants, compared with 36% at San Diego State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo or San Diego State University?
San Diego State University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,364 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $16,665 at California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo and San Diego State University?
Before aid, San Diego State University costs about $27,780 a year and California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo about $32,265. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo or San Diego State University?
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $7,529 there, against about $9,910 at San Diego State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo or San Diego State University?
San Diego State University is the larger of the two, with about 35,377 undergraduates against 21,996 at California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo.
Does California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo or San Diego State University have a better graduation rate?
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo has the higher graduation rate, at about 86% against 77% at San Diego State University.
Do graduates of California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo or San Diego State University earn more?
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo alumni earn more on average: a median of about $90,768 ten years after enrolling, against about $64,909 for San Diego State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo and San Diego State University require SAT or ACT scores?
California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all. San Diego State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo and San Diego State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1220–1410 at California Polytechnic State University-San Luis Obispo and 1090–1300 at San Diego State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school