Skip to content

California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt vs California State University-Monterey Bay

California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt is a public university in Arcata, CA. California State University-Monterey Bay is a public university in Seaside, CA. California State University-Monterey Bay admits about 97% of applicants and California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt about 98%, making California State University-Monterey Bay the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $13,171 a year at California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt after aid, and about $13,663 at California State University-Monterey Bay. About 61% of students graduate at California State University-Monterey Bay, compared with 48% at California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt. Ten years after enrolling, California State University-Monterey Bay alumni earn a median of about $59,247, against $47,626 for California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt.

See which of these two fits you, and what each would actually cost you.

Start the free quiz

California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt

Arcata, CA · Public

California State University-Monterey Bay

Seaside, CA · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Arcata, CA
Seaside, CA
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
5,612
6,819
Acceptance rate
98%
97%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.13–3.63
3.13–3.63
SAT (middle 50%)
970–1190
960–1160
ACT (middle 50%)
17–25
17–23
Test policy
Test optional
Test blind
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$13,171
$13,663
Full cost / yr
$25,170
$26,987
In-state tuition
$8,250
$7,779
Out-of-state tuition
$20,850
$20,379
Application fee
$70
$70
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$8,483
$9,970
$30k - $48k
$8,812
$9,981
$48k - $75k
$11,088
$12,440
$75k - $110k
$15,593
$16,281
Over $110k
$22,228
$22,818
Outcomes
Graduation rate
48%
61%
Freshman retention
76%
80%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$37,382
$48,648
Median earnings (10 yr)
$47,626
$59,247
Median debt at graduation
$18,000
$12,750
Student body
Pell grant recipients
43%
43%
First-generation students
44%
52%
International students
0%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
May 1
Feb 16

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt or California State University-Monterey Bay harder to get into?
California State University-Monterey Bay is harder to get into. It admits about 97% of applicants, compared with 98% at California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt or California State University-Monterey Bay?
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt is cheaper on average. Students pay about $13,171 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $13,663 at California State University-Monterey Bay. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt and California State University-Monterey Bay?
Before aid, California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt costs about $25,170 a year and California State University-Monterey Bay about $26,987. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt or California State University-Monterey Bay?
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $8,483 there, against about $9,970 at California State University-Monterey Bay. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt or California State University-Monterey Bay?
California State University-Monterey Bay is the larger of the two, with about 6,819 undergraduates against 5,612 at California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt.
Does California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt or California State University-Monterey Bay have a better graduation rate?
California State University-Monterey Bay has the higher graduation rate, at about 61% against 48% at California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt.
Do graduates of California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt or California State University-Monterey Bay earn more?
California State University-Monterey Bay alumni earn more on average: a median of about $59,247 ten years after enrolling, against about $47,626 for California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt and California State University-Monterey Bay require SAT or ACT scores?
California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. California State University-Monterey Bay is test blind and does not consider SAT or ACT scores at all.
What SAT scores do California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt and California State University-Monterey Bay look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 970–1190 at California State Polytechnic University-Humboldt and 960–1160 at California State University-Monterey Bay. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school