Skip to content

Cameron University vs Southwestern Oklahoma State University

Cameron University is a public university in Lawton, OK. Southwestern Oklahoma State University is a public university in Weatherford, OK. Both admit about 100% of applicants. Students pay an average of about $10,912 a year at Cameron University after aid, and about $14,459 at Southwestern Oklahoma State University. About 37% of students graduate at Southwestern Oklahoma State University, compared with 26% at Cameron University. Ten years after enrolling, Southwestern Oklahoma State University alumni earn a median of about $45,744, against $40,118 for Cameron University.

Cameron University

Lawton, OK · Public

Southwestern Oklahoma State University

Weatherford, OK · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Lawton, OK
Weatherford, OK
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
2,492
3,514
Acceptance rate
100%
100%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.06–3.56
3.13–3.63
SAT (middle 50%)
890–1080
970–1180
ACT (middle 50%)
15–20
17–23
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$10,912
$14,459
Full cost / yr
$19,862
$23,334
In-state tuition
$7,095
$8,469
Out-of-state tuition
$16,515
$8,499
Application fee
$20
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$8,752
$10,987
$30k - $48k
$10,555
$10,094
$48k - $75k
$11,919
$12,069
$75k - $110k
$16,504
$17,500
Over $110k
$15,808
$19,595
Outcomes
Graduation rate
26%
37%
Freshman retention
67%
68%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$33,447
$42,896
Median earnings (10 yr)
$40,118
$45,744
Median debt at graduation
$21,500
$15,954
Student body
Pell grant recipients
39%
39%
First-generation students
47%
41%
International students
3%
2%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Cameron University or Southwestern Oklahoma State University harder to get into?
They are about equally selective: both admit around 100% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Cameron University or Southwestern Oklahoma State University?
Cameron University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $10,912 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $14,459 at Southwestern Oklahoma State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Cameron University and Southwestern Oklahoma State University?
Before aid, Cameron University costs about $19,862 a year and Southwestern Oklahoma State University about $23,334. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Cameron University or Southwestern Oklahoma State University?
Cameron University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $8,752 there, against about $10,987 at Southwestern Oklahoma State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Cameron University or Southwestern Oklahoma State University?
Southwestern Oklahoma State University is the larger of the two, with about 3,514 undergraduates against 2,492 at Cameron University.
Does Cameron University or Southwestern Oklahoma State University have a better graduation rate?
Southwestern Oklahoma State University has the higher graduation rate, at about 37% against 26% at Cameron University.
Do graduates of Cameron University or Southwestern Oklahoma State University earn more?
Southwestern Oklahoma State University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $45,744 ten years after enrolling, against about $40,118 for Cameron University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Cameron University and Southwestern Oklahoma State University require SAT or ACT scores?
Cameron University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Southwestern Oklahoma State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Cameron University and Southwestern Oklahoma State University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 890–1080 at Cameron University and 970–1180 at Southwestern Oklahoma State University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school