Skip to content

Capital University vs Cedarville University

Capital University is a private university in Columbus, OH, and Cedarville University is a private university in Cedarville, OH. Cedarville University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 65% of applicants against 70% at Capital University. Capital University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $22,576 a year against $24,468 at Cedarville University. About 73% of students graduate at Cedarville University, compared with 63% at Capital University. Ten years after enrolling, Cedarville University alumni earn a median of about $55,443, against $54,143 for Capital University.

Capital University

Columbus, OH · Private

Cedarville University

Cedarville, OH · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Columbus, OH
Cedarville, OH
Setting
Suburban
Rural
Undergraduates
1,585
4,024
Acceptance rate
70%
65%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.37–3.87
3.49–3.99
SAT (middle 50%)
910–1180
1130–1360
ACT (middle 50%)
18–25
22–29
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$22,576
$24,468
Full cost / yr
$57,130
$49,320
In-state tuition
$43,234
$37,150
Out-of-state tuition
$43,234
$37,150
Application fee
$0
$30
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$19,062
$18,987
$30k - $48k
$18,574
$17,762
$48k - $75k
$20,331
$19,743
$75k - $110k
$23,348
$23,426
Over $110k
$27,299
$28,127
Outcomes
Graduation rate
63%
73%
Freshman retention
76%
90%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$45,767
$47,937
Median earnings (10 yr)
$54,143
$55,443
Median debt at graduation
$26,889
$20,937
Student body
Pell grant recipients
34%
15%
First-generation students
28%
13%
International students
1%
3%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Capital University or Cedarville University harder to get into?
Cedarville University is harder to get into. It admits about 65% of applicants, compared with 70% at Capital University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Capital University or Cedarville University?
Capital University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $22,576 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $24,468 at Cedarville University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Capital University and Cedarville University?
Before aid, Cedarville University costs about $49,320 a year and Capital University about $57,130. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Capital University or Cedarville University?
Cedarville University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $18,987 there, against about $19,062 at Capital University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Capital University or Cedarville University?
Cedarville University is the larger of the two, with about 4,024 undergraduates against 1,585 at Capital University.
Does Capital University or Cedarville University have a better graduation rate?
Cedarville University has the higher graduation rate, at about 73% against 63% at Capital University.
Do graduates of Capital University or Cedarville University earn more?
Cedarville University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $55,443 ten years after enrolling, against about $54,143 for Capital University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Capital University and Cedarville University require SAT or ACT scores?
Capital University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Cedarville University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Capital University and Cedarville University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 910–1180 at Capital University and 1130–1360 at Cedarville University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school