Skip to content

Carlow University vs Millersville University of Pennsylvania

Carlow University is a private university in Pittsburgh, PA, and Millersville University of Pennsylvania is a public university in Millersville, PA. Millersville University of Pennsylvania is the more selective of the two, admitting about 86% of applicants against 87% at Carlow University. Carlow University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $20,786 a year against $20,787 at Millersville University of Pennsylvania. About 58% of students graduate at Carlow University, compared with 56% at Millersville University of Pennsylvania. Ten years after enrolling, Millersville University of Pennsylvania alumni earn a median of about $55,246, against $51,051 for Carlow University.

Carlow University

Pittsburgh, PA · Private

Millersville University of Pennsylvania

Millersville, PA · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Millersville, PA
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,348
5,728
Acceptance rate
87%
86%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.28–3.78
3.35–3.85
SAT (middle 50%)
960–1168
1020–1210
ACT (middle 50%)
21–24
Not reported
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$20,786
$20,787
Full cost / yr
$49,327
$26,913
In-state tuition
$35,874
$11,128
Out-of-state tuition
$35,874
$22,952
Application fee
$0
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$17,901
$14,565
$30k - $48k
$15,748
$15,313
$48k - $75k
$19,517
$17,961
$75k - $110k
$21,601
$22,010
Over $110k
$25,214
$24,541
Outcomes
Graduation rate
58%
56%
Freshman retention
84%
77%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$44,876
$44,813
Median earnings (10 yr)
$51,051
$55,246
Median debt at graduation
$25,500
$23,507
Student body
Pell grant recipients
43%
27%
First-generation students
37%
35%
International students
1%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Dec 1
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Carlow University or Millersville University of Pennsylvania harder to get into?
Millersville University of Pennsylvania is harder to get into. It admits about 86% of applicants, compared with 87% at Carlow University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Carlow University or Millersville University of Pennsylvania?
Carlow University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $20,786 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,787 at Millersville University of Pennsylvania. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Carlow University and Millersville University of Pennsylvania?
Before aid, Millersville University of Pennsylvania costs about $26,913 a year and Carlow University about $49,327. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Carlow University or Millersville University of Pennsylvania?
Millersville University of Pennsylvania. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $14,565 there, against about $17,901 at Carlow University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Carlow University or Millersville University of Pennsylvania?
Millersville University of Pennsylvania is the larger of the two, with about 5,728 undergraduates against 1,348 at Carlow University.
Does Carlow University or Millersville University of Pennsylvania have a better graduation rate?
Carlow University has the higher graduation rate, at about 58% against 56% at Millersville University of Pennsylvania.
Do graduates of Carlow University or Millersville University of Pennsylvania earn more?
Millersville University of Pennsylvania alumni earn more on average: a median of about $55,246 ten years after enrolling, against about $51,051 for Carlow University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Carlow University and Millersville University of Pennsylvania require SAT or ACT scores?
Carlow University considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Millersville University of Pennsylvania is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Carlow University and Millersville University of Pennsylvania look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 960–1168 at Carlow University and 1020–1210 at Millersville University of Pennsylvania. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school