Skip to content

Carroll University vs Mount Mary University

Carroll University is a private university in Waukesha, WI, and Mount Mary University is a private university in Milwaukee, WI. Mount Mary University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 62% of applicants against 67% at Carroll University. Carroll University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $15,193 a year against $20,144 at Mount Mary University. About 70% of students graduate at Carroll University, compared with 50% at Mount Mary University. Ten years after enrolling, Carroll University alumni earn a median of about $58,009, against $48,745 for Mount Mary University.

Carroll University

Waukesha, WI · Private

Mount Mary University

Milwaukee, WI · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Waukesha, WI
Milwaukee, WI
Setting
Urban
Urban
Undergraduates
2,523
631
Acceptance rate
67%
62%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.44–3.94
3.34–3.84
SAT (middle 50%)
1040–1270
866–1123
ACT (middle 50%)
21–27
18–21
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$15,193
$20,144
Full cost / yr
$52,639
$49,270
In-state tuition
$38,890
$35,420
Out-of-state tuition
$38,890
$35,420
Application fee
$0
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$15,718
$18,155
$30k - $48k
$16,875
$19,013
$48k - $75k
$14,134
$19,277
$75k - $110k
$15,730
$20,584
Over $110k
$14,891
$27,371
Outcomes
Graduation rate
70%
50%
Freshman retention
78%
67%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$54,456
$40,421
Median earnings (10 yr)
$58,009
$48,745
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$25,288
Student body
Pell grant recipients
23%
59%
First-generation students
27%
39%
International students
4%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Carroll University or Mount Mary University harder to get into?
Mount Mary University is harder to get into. It admits about 62% of applicants, compared with 67% at Carroll University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Carroll University or Mount Mary University?
Carroll University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $15,193 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,144 at Mount Mary University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Carroll University and Mount Mary University?
Before aid, Mount Mary University costs about $49,270 a year and Carroll University about $52,639. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Carroll University or Mount Mary University?
Carroll University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $15,718 there, against about $18,155 at Mount Mary University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Carroll University or Mount Mary University?
Carroll University is the larger of the two, with about 2,523 undergraduates against 631 at Mount Mary University.
Does Carroll University or Mount Mary University have a better graduation rate?
Carroll University has the higher graduation rate, at about 70% against 50% at Mount Mary University.
Do graduates of Carroll University or Mount Mary University earn more?
Carroll University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $58,009 ten years after enrolling, against about $48,745 for Mount Mary University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Carroll University and Mount Mary University require SAT or ACT scores?
Carroll University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Mount Mary University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Carroll University and Mount Mary University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1040–1270 at Carroll University and 866–1123 at Mount Mary University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school