Skip to content

Carson-Newman University vs King University

Carson-Newman University is a private university in Jefferson City, TN, and King University is a private university in Bristol, TN. Carson-Newman University is the more selective of the two, admitting about 90% of applicants against 100% at King University. Carson-Newman University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $20,251 a year against $22,347 at King University. About 50% of students graduate at Carson-Newman University, compared with 47% at King University. Ten years after enrolling, King University alumni earn a median of about $59,831, against $48,382 for Carson-Newman University.

Carson-Newman University

Jefferson City, TN · Private

King University

Bristol, TN · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Jefferson City, TN
Bristol, TN
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,387
908
Acceptance rate
90%
100%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.21–3.71
3.13–3.63
SAT (middle 50%)
955–1215
1000–1160
ACT (middle 50%)
19–25
18–24
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$20,251
$22,347
Full cost / yr
$49,024
$49,004
In-state tuition
$34,700
$36,194
Out-of-state tuition
$34,700
$36,194
Application fee
Not reported
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,672
$22,696
$30k - $48k
$16,446
$17,677
$48k - $75k
$17,313
$18,035
$75k - $110k
$21,209
$21,188
Over $110k
$28,621
$27,219
Outcomes
Graduation rate
50%
47%
Freshman retention
74%
60%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$39,324
$52,248
Median earnings (10 yr)
$48,382
$59,831
Median debt at graduation
$21,500
$22,750
Student body
Pell grant recipients
33%
42%
First-generation students
35%
51%
International students
6%
6%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Carson-Newman University or King University harder to get into?
Carson-Newman University is harder to get into. It admits about 90% of applicants, compared with 100% at King University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Carson-Newman University or King University?
Carson-Newman University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $20,251 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $22,347 at King University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Carson-Newman University and King University?
Before aid, King University costs about $49,004 a year and Carson-Newman University about $49,024. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Carson-Newman University or King University?
Carson-Newman University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $16,672 there, against about $22,696 at King University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Carson-Newman University or King University?
Carson-Newman University is the larger of the two, with about 1,387 undergraduates against 908 at King University.
Does Carson-Newman University or King University have a better graduation rate?
Carson-Newman University has the higher graduation rate, at about 50% against 47% at King University.
Do graduates of Carson-Newman University or King University earn more?
King University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $59,831 ten years after enrolling, against about $48,382 for Carson-Newman University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Carson-Newman University and King University require SAT or ACT scores?
Carson-Newman University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. King University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Carson-Newman University and King University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 955–1215 at Carson-Newman University and 1000–1160 at King University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school