Skip to content

Carson-Newman University vs The University of Tennessee-Martin

Carson-Newman University is a private university in Jefferson City, TN, and The University of Tennessee-Martin is a public university in Martin, TN. The University of Tennessee-Martin is the more selective of the two, admitting about 88% of applicants against 90% at Carson-Newman University. The University of Tennessee-Martin is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $10,701 a year against $20,251 at Carson-Newman University. About 54% of students graduate at The University of Tennessee-Martin, compared with 50% at Carson-Newman University. Ten years after enrolling, Carson-Newman University alumni earn a median of about $48,382, against $44,213 for The University of Tennessee-Martin.

Carson-Newman University

Jefferson City, TN · Private

The University of Tennessee-Martin

Martin, TN · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Jefferson City, TN
Martin, TN
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,387
4,866
Acceptance rate
90%
88%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.21–3.71
3.25–3.75
SAT (middle 50%)
955–1215
970–1210
ACT (middle 50%)
19–25
19–25
Test policy
Test optional
Required
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$20,251
$10,701
Full cost / yr
$49,024
$23,079
In-state tuition
$34,700
$10,560
Out-of-state tuition
$34,700
$16,600
Application fee
Not reported
$30
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,672
$7,151
$30k - $48k
$16,446
$8,961
$48k - $75k
$17,313
$11,640
$75k - $110k
$21,209
$15,343
Over $110k
$28,621
$15,827
Outcomes
Graduation rate
50%
54%
Freshman retention
74%
77%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$39,324
$38,863
Median earnings (10 yr)
$48,382
$44,213
Median debt at graduation
$21,500
$21,024
Student body
Pell grant recipients
33%
34%
First-generation students
35%
39%
International students
6%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Carson-Newman University or The University of Tennessee-Martin harder to get into?
The University of Tennessee-Martin is harder to get into. It admits about 88% of applicants, compared with 90% at Carson-Newman University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Carson-Newman University or The University of Tennessee-Martin?
The University of Tennessee-Martin is cheaper on average. Students pay about $10,701 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,251 at Carson-Newman University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Carson-Newman University and The University of Tennessee-Martin?
Before aid, The University of Tennessee-Martin costs about $23,079 a year and Carson-Newman University about $49,024. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Carson-Newman University or The University of Tennessee-Martin?
The University of Tennessee-Martin. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $7,151 there, against about $16,672 at Carson-Newman University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Carson-Newman University or The University of Tennessee-Martin?
The University of Tennessee-Martin is the larger of the two, with about 4,866 undergraduates against 1,387 at Carson-Newman University.
Does Carson-Newman University or The University of Tennessee-Martin have a better graduation rate?
The University of Tennessee-Martin has the higher graduation rate, at about 54% against 50% at Carson-Newman University.
Do graduates of Carson-Newman University or The University of Tennessee-Martin earn more?
Carson-Newman University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $48,382 ten years after enrolling, against about $44,213 for The University of Tennessee-Martin. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Carson-Newman University and The University of Tennessee-Martin require SAT or ACT scores?
Carson-Newman University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. The University of Tennessee-Martin requires SAT or ACT scores.
What SAT scores do Carson-Newman University and The University of Tennessee-Martin look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 955–1215 at Carson-Newman University and 970–1210 at The University of Tennessee-Martin. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school