Skip to content

Carson-Newman University vs Welch College

Carson-Newman University is a private university in Jefferson City, TN, and Welch College is a private college in Gallatin, TN. Carson-Newman University is the cheaper of the two after aid, averaging about $20,251 a year against $25,263 at Welch College. About 57% of students graduate at Welch College, compared with 50% at Carson-Newman University. Ten years after enrolling, Carson-Newman University alumni earn a median of about $48,382, against $42,198 for Welch College.

Carson-Newman University

Jefferson City, TN · Private

Welch College

Gallatin, TN · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Jefferson City, TN
Gallatin, TN
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
1,387
226
Acceptance rate
90%
Not reported
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.21–3.71
Not reported
SAT (middle 50%)
955–1215
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
19–25
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Not reported
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$20,251
$25,263
Full cost / yr
$49,024
$37,072
In-state tuition
$34,700
$21,400
Out-of-state tuition
$34,700
$21,400
Application fee
Not reported
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,672
$25,590
$30k - $48k
$16,446
$18,289
$48k - $75k
$17,313
$23,219
$75k - $110k
$21,209
$26,783
Over $110k
$28,621
$27,512
Outcomes
Graduation rate
50%
57%
Freshman retention
74%
61%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$39,324
$34,190
Median earnings (10 yr)
$48,382
$42,198
Median debt at graduation
$21,500
$19,500
Student body
Pell grant recipients
33%
28%
First-generation students
35%
Not reported
International students
6%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Which is cheaper, Carson-Newman University or Welch College?
Carson-Newman University is cheaper on average. Students pay about $20,251 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $25,263 at Welch College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Carson-Newman University and Welch College?
Before aid, Welch College costs about $37,072 a year and Carson-Newman University about $49,024. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Carson-Newman University or Welch College?
Carson-Newman University. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $16,672 there, against about $25,590 at Welch College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Carson-Newman University or Welch College?
Carson-Newman University is the larger of the two, with about 1,387 undergraduates against 226 at Welch College.
Does Carson-Newman University or Welch College have a better graduation rate?
Welch College has the higher graduation rate, at about 57% against 50% at Carson-Newman University.
Do graduates of Carson-Newman University or Welch College earn more?
Carson-Newman University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $48,382 ten years after enrolling, against about $42,198 for Welch College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school