Skip to content

Cedar Crest College vs Millersville University of Pennsylvania

Cedar Crest College is a private college in Allentown, PA. Millersville University of Pennsylvania is a public university in Millersville, PA. Cedar Crest College admits about 84% of applicants and Millersville University of Pennsylvania about 86%, making Cedar Crest College the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $18,659 a year at Cedar Crest College after aid, and about $20,787 at Millersville University of Pennsylvania. About 59% of students graduate at Cedar Crest College, compared with 56% at Millersville University of Pennsylvania. Ten years after enrolling, Cedar Crest College alumni earn a median of about $59,460, against $55,246 for Millersville University of Pennsylvania.

Cedar Crest College

Allentown, PA · Private

Millersville University of Pennsylvania

Millersville, PA · Public
At a glance
Type
Private
Public
Location
Allentown, PA
Millersville, PA
Setting
Urban
Suburban
Undergraduates
834
5,728
Acceptance rate
84%
86%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.38–3.88
3.35–3.85
SAT (middle 50%)
1000–1230
1020–1210
ACT (middle 50%)
20–29
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$18,659
$20,787
Full cost / yr
$57,206
$26,913
In-state tuition
$46,314
$11,128
Out-of-state tuition
$46,314
$22,952
Application fee
$0
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$21,044
$14,565
$30k - $48k
$24,250
$15,313
$48k - $75k
$21,490
$17,961
$75k - $110k
$19,909
$22,010
Over $110k
$11,008
$24,541
Outcomes
Graduation rate
59%
56%
Freshman retention
71%
77%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$48,295
$44,813
Median earnings (10 yr)
$59,460
$55,246
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
$23,507
Student body
Pell grant recipients
44%
27%
First-generation students
43%
35%
International students
7%
1%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Cedar Crest College or Millersville University of Pennsylvania harder to get into?
Cedar Crest College is harder to get into. It admits about 84% of applicants, compared with 86% at Millersville University of Pennsylvania. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Cedar Crest College or Millersville University of Pennsylvania?
Cedar Crest College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $18,659 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $20,787 at Millersville University of Pennsylvania. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Cedar Crest College and Millersville University of Pennsylvania?
Before aid, Millersville University of Pennsylvania costs about $26,913 a year and Cedar Crest College about $57,206. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Cedar Crest College or Millersville University of Pennsylvania?
Millersville University of Pennsylvania. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $14,565 there, against about $21,044 at Cedar Crest College. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Cedar Crest College or Millersville University of Pennsylvania?
Millersville University of Pennsylvania is the larger of the two, with about 5,728 undergraduates against 834 at Cedar Crest College.
Does Cedar Crest College or Millersville University of Pennsylvania have a better graduation rate?
Cedar Crest College has the higher graduation rate, at about 59% against 56% at Millersville University of Pennsylvania.
Do graduates of Cedar Crest College or Millersville University of Pennsylvania earn more?
Cedar Crest College alumni earn more on average: a median of about $59,460 ten years after enrolling, against about $55,246 for Millersville University of Pennsylvania. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Cedar Crest College and Millersville University of Pennsylvania require SAT or ACT scores?
Cedar Crest College is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Millersville University of Pennsylvania is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Cedar Crest College and Millersville University of Pennsylvania look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1000–1230 at Cedar Crest College and 1020–1210 at Millersville University of Pennsylvania. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school