Skip to content

Central College vs Drake University

Central College is a private college in Pella, IA. Drake University is a private university in Des Moines, IA. Drake University admits about 64% of applicants and Central College about 86%, making Drake University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $23,377 a year at Central College after aid, and about $29,127 at Drake University. About 76% of students graduate at Drake University, compared with 68% at Central College. Ten years after enrolling, Drake University alumni earn a median of about $71,901, against $54,317 for Central College.

Central College

Pella, IA · Private

Drake University

Des Moines, IA · Private
At a glance
Type
Private
Private
Location
Pella, IA
Des Moines, IA
Setting
Suburban
Urban
Undergraduates
1,070
2,543
Acceptance rate
86%
64%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.29–3.79
3.5–4
SAT (middle 50%)
1056–1120
1110–1350
ACT (middle 50%)
20–26
24–29
Test policy
Considered
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$23,377
$29,127
Full cost / yr
$37,773
$64,835
In-state tuition
$20,988
$52,130
Out-of-state tuition
$20,988
$52,130
Application fee
$25
$0
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$16,231
$25,824
$30k - $48k
$16,237
$23,275
$48k - $75k
$19,532
$25,171
$75k - $110k
$21,936
$27,408
Over $110k
$27,165
$33,126
Outcomes
Graduation rate
68%
76%
Freshman retention
80%
84%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$49,115
$58,233
Median earnings (10 yr)
$54,317
$71,901
Median debt at graduation
$26,984
$23,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
22%
22%
First-generation students
21%
15%
International students
0%
4%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Central College or Drake University harder to get into?
Drake University is harder to get into. It admits about 64% of applicants, compared with 86% at Central College. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Central College or Drake University?
Central College is cheaper on average. Students pay about $23,377 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $29,127 at Drake University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Central College and Drake University?
Before aid, Central College costs about $37,773 a year and Drake University about $64,835. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Central College or Drake University?
Central College. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $16,231 there, against about $25,824 at Drake University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Central College or Drake University?
Drake University is the larger of the two, with about 2,543 undergraduates against 1,070 at Central College.
Does Central College or Drake University have a better graduation rate?
Drake University has the higher graduation rate, at about 76% against 68% at Central College.
Do graduates of Central College or Drake University earn more?
Drake University alumni earn more on average: a median of about $71,901 ten years after enrolling, against about $54,317 for Central College. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Central College and Drake University require SAT or ACT scores?
Central College considers SAT or ACT scores when you submit them. Drake University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.
What SAT scores do Central College and Drake University look for?
The middle 50% of admitted students score 1056–1120 at Central College and 1110–1350 at Drake University. A quarter of admitted students scored below those ranges.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school