Skip to content

Central Michigan University vs Yeshiva Gedolah of Greater Detroit

Central Michigan University is a public university in Mount Pleasant, MI. Yeshiva Gedolah of Greater Detroit is a private university in Oak Park, MI. Both admit about 90% of applicants. Students pay an average of about $11,746 a year at Yeshiva Gedolah of Greater Detroit after aid, and about $17,597 at Central Michigan University. About 60% of students graduate at Central Michigan University, compared with 40% at Yeshiva Gedolah of Greater Detroit.

Central Michigan University

Mount Pleasant, MI · Public

Yeshiva Gedolah of Greater Detroit

Oak Park, MI · Private
At a glance
Type
Public
Private
Location
Mount Pleasant, MI
Oak Park, MI
Setting
Suburban
Suburban
Undergraduates
10,035
75
Acceptance rate
90%
90%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.22–3.72
3.33–3.83
SAT (middle 50%)
960–1200
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
21–27
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$17,597
$11,746
Full cost / yr
$30,681
$19,682
In-state tuition
$14,760
$6,100
Out-of-state tuition
$14,760
$6,100
Application fee
$40
Not reported
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$12,185
Not reported
$30k - $48k
$12,139
$10,082
$48k - $75k
$13,601
$11,125
$75k - $110k
$16,269
$13,272
Over $110k
$21,403
$12,562
Outcomes
Graduation rate
60%
40%
Freshman retention
75%
96%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$46,567
Not reported
Median earnings (10 yr)
$55,874
Not reported
Median debt at graduation
$27,000
Not reported
Student body
Pell grant recipients
31%
37%
First-generation students
29%
Not reported
International students
3%
0%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Rolling

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Central Michigan University or Yeshiva Gedolah of Greater Detroit harder to get into?
They are about equally selective: both admit around 90% of applicants. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Central Michigan University or Yeshiva Gedolah of Greater Detroit?
Yeshiva Gedolah of Greater Detroit is cheaper on average. Students pay about $11,746 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $17,597 at Central Michigan University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Central Michigan University and Yeshiva Gedolah of Greater Detroit?
Before aid, Yeshiva Gedolah of Greater Detroit costs about $19,682 a year and Central Michigan University about $30,681. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is bigger, Central Michigan University or Yeshiva Gedolah of Greater Detroit?
Central Michigan University is the larger of the two, with about 10,035 undergraduates against 75 at Yeshiva Gedolah of Greater Detroit.
Does Central Michigan University or Yeshiva Gedolah of Greater Detroit have a better graduation rate?
Central Michigan University has the higher graduation rate, at about 60% against 40% at Yeshiva Gedolah of Greater Detroit.
Do Central Michigan University and Yeshiva Gedolah of Greater Detroit require SAT or ACT scores?
Central Michigan University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Yeshiva Gedolah of Greater Detroit is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school