Skip to content

Central State University vs Miami University-Middletown

Central State University is a public university in Wilberforce, OH. Miami University-Middletown is a public university in Middletown, OH. Central State University admits about 99% of applicants and Miami University-Middletown about 100%, making Central State University the harder of the two to get into. Students pay an average of about $10,809 a year at Miami University-Middletown after aid, and about $13,096 at Central State University. About 28% of students graduate at Miami University-Middletown, compared with 24% at Central State University. Ten years after enrolling, Miami University-Middletown alumni earn a median of about $55,076, against $33,267 for Central State University.

Central State University

Wilberforce, OH · Public

Miami University-Middletown

Middletown, OH · Public
At a glance
Type
Public
Public
Location
Wilberforce, OH
Middletown, OH
Setting
Rural
Suburban
Undergraduates
2,620
837
Acceptance rate
99%
100%
Admissions
GPA (admitted)
3.02–3.52
3.2–3.7
SAT (middle 50%)
770–950
Not reported
ACT (middle 50%)
14–18
Not reported
Test policy
Test optional
Test optional
Cost
Avg net price / yr
$13,096
$10,809
Full cost / yr
$21,929
$14,890
In-state tuition
$8,058
$7,491
Out-of-state tuition
$10,058
$19,407
Application fee
$35
$35
Net price by family income
Family income under $30k
$19,581
$7,452
$30k - $48k
$7,161
$8,415
$48k - $75k
$8,773
$10,126
$75k - $110k
$10,343
$13,331
Over $110k
$10,187
$13,354
Outcomes
Graduation rate
24%
28%
Freshman retention
56%
67%
Median earnings (6 yr)
$27,173
$49,773
Median earnings (10 yr)
$33,267
$55,076
Median debt at graduation
$30,739
$23,000
Student body
Pell grant recipients
53%
27%
First-generation students
40%
23%
International students
9%
5%
Deadlines
Early decision
Not reported
Not reported
Early action
Not reported
Not reported
Regular decision
Rolling
Aug 1

Net price is the average across aided students (U.S. College Scorecard). Your actual cost and admission odds depend on your profile. Take the free Matchmaker for your own numbers.

Frequently asked questions
Is Central State University or Miami University-Middletown harder to get into?
Central State University is harder to get into. It admits about 99% of applicants, compared with 100% at Miami University-Middletown. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
Which is cheaper, Central State University or Miami University-Middletown?
Miami University-Middletown is cheaper on average. Students pay about $10,809 a year after grants and scholarships, against about $13,096 at Central State University. Your own odds and price depend on your profile, so take Blueprint's free Matchmaker to see your numbers at both.
What is the full cost of attendance at Central State University and Miami University-Middletown?
Before aid, Miami University-Middletown costs about $14,890 a year and Central State University about $21,929. That is the sticker price; most students pay less once grants and scholarships are applied.
Which is cheaper for a family earning under $30,000, Central State University or Miami University-Middletown?
Miami University-Middletown. Families earning under $30,000 a year pay about $7,452 there, against about $19,581 at Central State University. Aid is income-tested, so this can differ from the average price and from the sticker price.
Which is bigger, Central State University or Miami University-Middletown?
Central State University is the larger of the two, with about 2,620 undergraduates against 837 at Miami University-Middletown.
Does Central State University or Miami University-Middletown have a better graduation rate?
Miami University-Middletown has the higher graduation rate, at about 28% against 24% at Central State University.
Do graduates of Central State University or Miami University-Middletown earn more?
Miami University-Middletown alumni earn more on average: a median of about $55,076 ten years after enrolling, against about $33,267 for Central State University. Earnings vary far more by major than by school.
Do Central State University and Miami University-Middletown require SAT or ACT scores?
Central State University is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them. Miami University-Middletown is test optional, so scores are considered only if you choose to send them.

Related comparisons

Which of these is the better fit for you?

These lists are a great start, but the one list that actually matters is yours. Blueprint builds it in two free steps.

1 Discovery quiz: find your major2 Matchmaker: your odds + net price at every school